Unia review by Sonata Arctica

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 22, 2007
  • Sound: 7
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.7 (31 votes)
Sonata Arctica: Unia

Sound — 7
I own all albums that Sonata Arctica has made. From Ecliptica to Unia. Through the years the band has changed it's music style from "the real" Sonata Arctica metal to something that goes more into a "softer" kind of metal with more synth and calm parts in the songs. Tony, the singer and songwriter, plays piano himself so of course he knows how to make good piano comp, licks and fills. There's nothing wrong in the new music style but I must tell you I like the old Sonata music better than this. The first album, Ecliptica, was pure Sonata music. Nowadays they've been influenced by several bands.

Lyrics — 10
Tony Kakko. He sure knows how to make great lyrics and voices that fits the song. After listening through the album a couple of times the best thing with the whole CD was the lyrics. Tony create the right feeling in the song with his mostly sad lyrics and his way of singing 'em. Tony mostly writes lyrics about "Me and you". Often love troubles. Tony sure can sing and is the best singer from Finland I've heard. And I live in Finland, so trust me I'v heard a lot of em. I think Tony has been somewhere studying english, so also his speech is great. Unfortunately live he can't do the voices 'cause they go to high for him.

Overall Impression — 8
The album can very well compare to other albums, not those made by Sonata Arctica earlier, but well to other artists albums. I'm although a bit dissappointed In their music style change and as I first heard it, it was like: "What? I bought wrong CD?". But as I listened on, I've found that little Sonata Arctica Left in it. I'm Happy there's some Sonata left in their style. Jani, Henrik, Marko and Tommy sure still know how to play.

6 comments sorted by best / new / date

    In my opinion, Sonata Arctica have unleashed their own sound from album to album, so for me, this is more pure Sonata sound than Ecliptica. Appart from that, this is their best album yet, after Winterheart's Guild (which I'm surprised doesn't have a review here). The sound has changed a lot, and it was going to happen: they started to change on WHG, and now this is, probably, the climax. And a really good one. For me, the best songs on the album are Paid in Full, For the Sake of Revenge, Under Your Tree, My Dreams but a Drop of Fuel for a Nightmare and The Worlds Forgotten, The Words Forbidden. So, for me, their ranking goes this way (nowadays): Winterheart's Guild > Unia > Reckoning Night > Silence > Ecliptica PS: I love them all, just that I prefer more original stuff to typical power metal; in fact, SA is the only "atthebeginning" power metal band I like, being myself a strange creature that likes them almost as much as Opeth, Porcupine Tree or Death. lol
    Man, I think Sonata Arctica has allways had Emo vocals(sorry man but it is true)although Tony sings like an angel. They're super melodic and this album Unia has BEAUTIFUL acoustic brakes and yet again heavy brakes. This album is the one I think that has the most diverse sound to them all! I hope Sonata Arctica continues to make the same music!!!! PS. I give this album a 10/10 for sound, a 9/10 for lyrics and a impression a 9/10!
    jani wont return to the band, he wanted to leave, no too sure why just thats what tony and henrik have been sayintg in interviews. He was having arguments with members, and it was clear he wasnt as commited as the others. For SA to continue, he had to leave. I too am a great SA fan, and this album was written for Sonata.. NOT ITS FANS!!. Tony wrote this based on how he felt and how those fealings became music. Thats why most people dont like it, because it isnt all solos and fast double kicking. If thats all people seem to care about then they arent very good fans. Just accept it for what it is. Sonata were bored of playing fast music, and wanted a nice change.
    At first I hated this album, but I bought it and forced myself to give it a thorogh listen and now I love it. It's my favorite SA album, since only 1 song dissapointed me (For The Sake of Revenge). Solid album, and you must admit that the music is much more complex and thought out than their old work. Not just [verse-chorus-verse-chorus-solos-chorus-altered chorus] like so many of their old songs. With that said, I only have 1 thing left to say to wolf_ravenxxx: My Dream's but a Drop of Fuel for a Nightmare is an amazing song, just give it a chance.
    Before I start - i'am a fan of the SA. I think that Unia is worse that then other. Soun is good, but impression and music - is not that the same ones. I hope to happen a mirracle and the Jani Liimantainen returns to the band. P.S. Sorry for my English.