Our Rehearsed Spontaneous Reactions review by Songs For The Sleepwalkers

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 10, 2012
  • Sound: 7
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7.7 Good
  • Users' score: 7 (1 vote)
Songs For The Sleepwalkers: Our Rehearsed Spontaneous Reactions

Sound — 7
Songs For The Sleepwalkers is a Swedish act whose music is a blend of alternative, folk and post rock moments. The music featured on his debut album "Our Rehearsed Spontaneous Reactions" is a fascinating and dualistic record: It is short, minimal, eclectic and so dreamy and floaty that at times it might even sound a little incomplete: these qualities are both good and bad, it really depends on the way you approach the record. The 8 songs comprising the whole setlist almost feels like a unique, big track with several chapters that bring the listener somewhere else every time: acoustic guitars, feedbacks, cello and even a few electronics contribute to build a very unique landscape, which well adapts to the seasons and moods of "Songs For The Sleepwalker"'s birthplace. This album feels very honest, heartfelt and it embeds a great number of influences: from the dark and delicate folk a la Nick Drake and Elliott Smith, to the floaty melodies and spaciousness of Sigur Rs, Jeff Buckley and My Bloody Valentine.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics are very personal and in some ways, cryptic. The whole record alternates very clever metaphors to very straight forward and direct lyrics, mostly exploring the topic of how relationships and friendships change through the years, expecially in that very big lapse between teenaga and young manhood.

Overall Impression — 8
This records has got a very nice candle-lit vibe to it, and lyrics and music go very well together. All the performances are very natural, leaving that "human touch" that is really a must in this genre. The cover artwork is also pretty charming and it relates in a very subtile way to the concept of the whole record, adding up to the fascinating nocturnal vibe that this album is trying to create. Moreover, the album is offered for free download or donation, so you can stream it fully on www.songsforthesleepwalkers.bandcamp.com.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    Some of the musical experimentation, especially instrumentally, is pretty damn good, not a huge fan of the guys voice though..