Space Elevator review by Space Elevator

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8 (1 vote)
Space Elevator: Space Elevator

Sound — 10
Female vocal duties coming from "The Duchess" are full of emotion from silky whispers to all out rock screams - you are left in no doubt she is good at what she does! David Young (of We Will Rock You house band) makes his Les Paul & Strat sing sweetly on one song before rocking out on the next but in an understated way. Theres no feeling of the guitarist trying to out do the rest of the band, they come across as a tight professional unit. Magical keyboard work from Elliot Ware (also of We Will Rock You fame) sits happily next to the rhythm section handled by none other than Neil Murray (Whitesnake/Snakecharmer etc) and Brian Greene

The album sound is excellent, lots of layering and texturing coming through giving a new spin on the traditional rock sound which is very refreshing.

Lyrics — 9
Lyrically the listener will after a few listens, most likely be able to relate to the content. The stories told keep the listener entertained and have some unexpected twists. We are the losers is a big fav of mine, building musically and lyrically as the song progresses to a rousing multivoice chorus towards the end. Subject matter of love, loss and pain are nothing new but are executed in an original almost old time musical way bringing drama to the ears. Oils and bubbles get you smiling with such a quirky lyric, whilst Really don't care has a more serious subject matter.

Overall Impression — 10
Bits of KISS, Led Zeppelin, Queen and Foreigner are all contained in this musical journey, and carried out brilliantly. It an album that you'll need to listen to many times before you get to appreciate all its subtle almost hidden gems both lyrically and with its interspersed dialogues and effects. It's hard to pick out high points as its a consistently good album but for me its low point is the ending track "Move On" as you have to move on but are left wanting more! These guys have set the bar high for their debut - just think what the next albums gonna be like - I can't wait!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date