Ain't Complaining review by Status Quo

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 18, 1988
  • Sound: 5
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.5 (2 votes)
Status Quo: Ain't Complaining

Sound — 5
Released around '88, Ain't Complaining was the second album after the new line-up with 'Rhino' and Jeff Rich. It contains the hits like Aint Complaining', 'Burning Bridges' and 'Magic'. You can hear the use of synthesizers taking over the Quo sound. It goes quite well but it almost seems to replace the guitar instead of complementing it. However Andrew's arrangements are beautiful. Particularly on 'Cream Of The Crop' the melodic keys introduction is magical. Some songs like 'Another Shipwreck' crave a half decent guitar solo. Rossi and Rick have really discovered their effect pedals here too.

Lyrics — 10
Nice lyrics. Rossi sings most of it but Rick takes the lead on songs like One For the Money and The Loving Game. There's an awful lot of soppy stuff but I like Quo's ballads. Nice solos and vocal harmonies etc. ALL of the band contributed to writing as well as Pip Williams, Bernie Frost, John David (who also wrote TPAOY) and Mike Paxman. All very good.

Overall Impression — 9
It's very unique. One for the Money is good. It's very level 42ish but Rhino shows his talents well with his slap and pop improvisation. Again, a little too much keyboard but I think they got away with this one. A typical '80s album, Ain't Complaining showed the world that Quo could and will do more than their boogie shuffle. Personally, I love it.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date