Blue For You review by Status Quo

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 1, 1991
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.8 (4 votes)
Status Quo: Blue For You

Sound — 9
Allthough this is one of the older Quo albums (From the mid '70s), The sound quallity doesnt really matter, as what you hear, is what you expect to hear from a '70s rock 'n' roll song. I believe that this album demonstrates classic Quo at it's very best. Just listening to how Rick and Francis' lyrics mix beautifully with beautifully mastered guitar and drum playing. Most of the songs, if not all, sound just as they should, with minimum effects (Appart from 'Mystery Song') and with the two most famous partners of Quo, the traditional Telecasters. This album holds all the hallmarks of 70s Rock 'n' roll.

Lyrics — 8
With traditional style and unchanged song writing skills, the lyrics remain as status quo as they were in 'Piledriver' or 'Dog of Two Head'. They seem to be well thought about and not as cheesy as some of the songs that people were writing at the time (except maybe 'That's A Fact' which, for some reason, I didn't like). I thought that most of the song's lyrics on this album were as you would expect; they were all fantastic and actually fitted with the rest of the song (most bands of the '70s had trouble doing this, listen to some of the B-sides of 'Police' singles).

Overall Impression — 10
In my oppinion, this album (and others before it) has set the standard for other artists who play a similar style of music. It is great to listen to, even if it's the 10th time you've listened to it in that day, you can never get bored of it. In addition to this, the album has a small number of Quo hits on it including 'Rain' and 'Mystery Song'. The structure of how the songs have been set out is also another master-peice, because as one track finishes, a track that follows it up perfectly begins to play. Before you know it, you are addicted to the Quo. Whether you're a closet Quo fan or not, this is the album for you, Blue For You.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date