Heavy Traffic review by Status Quo

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 17, 2002
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.7 (6 votes)
Status Quo: Heavy Traffic

Sound — 9
As with all Quo songs, the standard 'Telecaster' sound is still there. Some of the sound in some of the less memorable songs, such as 'Another Day', does not seem to fit together. But, ignoring this fault, on most of the other songs, the band play brilliantly. Francis' and Rick's guitar playing remains as clear and sounds as great as it did thirty or so years ago. Andy's piano skills are still as professional as ever. Rhino's (John Edwards) simple yet remarkably memorable basslines continue to ring in your mind after you've listened to the CD for the first time. And finally the new boy, Matt Letley, displays his drumming skills and performs to the standard of the Quo drummers before him (John Coghlan, Jeff Rich and Pete Kircher). The sound, overall, is great, allthough it could have been better. The album is still a must buy though. I would recomend it to anyone who is into that sort of music.

Lyrics — 8
Fantastic lyrics, most of the lyrics on this Quo album have been wrote with the greatest of care. Some of the songs have failed though because of the lack of attention to the lyrics (Listen to Green), because of this slight ignorance, parts of this otherwise great album sound rushed. Allthough it has quite a few faults, this still remains one of my favourite albums. Even if you're not a fan of Quo, after listening to this album, I think that you'll agree that the majority of it is extremely catchy and memorable (Jam Side Down is bound to become a Quo classic). The lyrics on 'The Oriental' are more amusing than most Quo songs yet this isn't a bad thing what-so-ever as it fits with the other songs perfecty.

Overall Impression — 9
Just like any other Quo album, this is great. As I have said, some of the song could have been better, but the rest of the songs have made up for it. I hold high regard and respect for this album and the artists who created it. Rock on Quo.

4 comments sorted by best / new / date