Hello! review by Status Quo

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 28, 1973
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (2 votes)
Status Quo: Hello!

Sound — 9
Origionally released in 1973, Hello! was Quo's first number 1 album. This album is to Quo what Abbey Road is to the Beatles. It belts out old time rockers that everyone knows such as "Caroline", "4500 Times" and "Roll Over Lay Down". Plus some 'Quoed up' folky numbers such as "Claudie". However in 2005 from the makers of rereleased all of Quo's best (and worst) albums with the old tracks remastered and some rare ones added as bonus tracks. For instance "Joanne" was added in 2005 as it was the B side to the caroline single. This is definatly Quo at their best.

Lyrics — 8
90% of the lyrics are great but you always get the odd song that I like to call cheesey ("Oh The Oriental") but all these songs are great both music wise and word wise. I quite like Rossi's soft voice and Ricks rough one. They work together so well and with Lancaster somewhere in between things just run so smoothly. They all adapt so well to every style.

Overall Impression — 8
So what if it cost me 11 bleedin' quid? It was woth every penny. To this day Quo have made some brill records (also going to number one) but none as far as the fans are concerned have been able to top this one. I just wish the book wasn't black because the fingerprints don't come off! Long live Quo.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date