Just Doin' It Live [DVD] review by Status Quo

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 6, 2006
  • Sound: 10
  • Content: 10
  • Production Quality: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9.5 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.6 (5 votes)
Status Quo: Just Doin' It Live [DVD]

Sound — 10
Well in my opinion it's a big f--k you to anyone who said that they couldn't do it. Well they did. And they still are. The Quo are pushing 60 now and are still rocking as if they were in their 20. All the volume levels are bang on and if you have seen them live yourself then you'll know what to expect from Francis' cheeky mouth. Andrew Bown's keyboard playing is out of this world and Rhino's bass sound is stunning. Matthew's drumming is at it's best as he improvises drum solos and fills and the other two are just awesome. If I had the money I would see them every week but this is the next best thing. Recorded in 2006 at the N.E.C in Birmingham the rock gods show their fans they've got tons left in 'em yet.

Content — 10
Ace. The menus are like an amp face with all the bottons to press and fiddle with as you work your way through a whole set and some special features including a short documentary of the band and a picture slideshow of the fans. It was released with a special edition pack which contains a CD od some of the live tracks and a car bumper sticker. But 30 is a bit steep for a DVD - even if it does have a signed poster. Oh who am I kidding. I want it! Tracklist: 01. Caroline 02. Something 'bout You Baby I Like 03. Don't Waste My Time 04. Forty-Five Hundred Times 05. Rain 06. Hold Ya Back 07. All Stand Up (Never Say Never) 08. The Oriental 09. Creeping Up 10. Medley (Mystery Song/Railroad/Most Of The Time/Wild Side Of Life/Rolling Home/Again And Again/Slow Train) 11. Bellavista Man 12. The Party Ain't Over Yet 13. Gerdundula 14. Roll Over Lay Down 15. Down Down 16. Whatever You Want 17. Rockin' All Over The World 18. Medley (What You're Proposing/Down The Dust Pipe/Little Lady/Red Sky/Dear John/Big Fat Mama) 19. Burning Bridges 20. Junior's Wailing 21. Bye Bye Johnny.

Production Quality — 9
I don't do technology but the menus take their time once you have made your chice and the sound on the menus sometimes skips but that may be the DVD player I'm playing it on. Apart from that, all is good. The DVD has a brilliant layout and the production team have done very well.

Overall Impression — 9
It's just awesomely mind blowing. But don't take a fan's word for it. Buy it. As a guitarist you should love it and if you don't like it from a musical/performance perspective, you're simple. The style may not be your thing but let all these young bands step down a second and let the monarchs of rock 'n' roll show you how it should be done. Give it a try. I promise you, if you have any musical knowledge at all you will (if secretly) admire them.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date