XS All Areas: The Greatest Hits review by Status Quo

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Dec 7, 2004
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (2 votes)
Status Quo: XS All Areas: The Greatest Hits

Sound — 10
As with all Quo compilations, you get what you expect, sound-wise. This 2 disc collection brings together the band's greatest works, from the late '60s to the present day. There is obviously a certain lack of sound quality that brings down some of the earliest works by a small degree. But even with this in mind it doesn't prevent that truely unique Status Quo sound from grabbing your attention. It would be litterally impossible to ignore the sheer power of songs like Paper Plane, Whatever You Want and crowd pleasers like Big Fat Mama (unreleased as a single). It's also nice to see that, as well as the heavy songs adn the Quo favourites that were perfect for single release (but were not ment to be), there are also those beautiful slow songs that either hit you where it hurts or make you shut up and listen. Songs like Living On An Island and Rock N' Roll. Songs like that are so well composed and structured that you can't help but feel at one with them.

Lyrics — 9
Most of the songs on here are written by Francis and Bob Young, which almost always end up as a great effort, both lyrically and musically. There are many other colaberations on the collection which have made for good music and lyrics, such as Francis Rossi/Bernie Frost and Rick Parfitt/Andy Bown. If I could pick out any one of those pairings as a weak one, I would have a hard time doing it, as they all have a hell of a lot more strong points than weak points. The only weak song on here for lyrics is a cover, and it happens to be the Beach Boys' classic Fun Fun Fun. All the rest of the songs get the thumbs up from me (and probobly from many others the world over).

Overall Impression — 10
This was the first collection of Quo hits that I ever bought, and I havn't looked back since. With the added bonus of two brand new singles (You'll Come Round and Thinkin' Of You), this makes for perfect listening. So, wether you're an oldie Quo fan or a newbie, there's something on here for all!

5 comments sorted by best / new / date

    belavista man
    Its a shame that tracks like "Rollin' Home", "Dear John" and "Every Time I Think Of You" wern't on here...
    ^They were originally. They were scrapped due to lack off room but I don't see why there could hav been a THIRD disc.