Real Illusions: Reflections review by Steve Vai

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 22, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8 (56 votes)
Steve Vai: Real Illusions: Reflections

Sound — 10
Steve Vai's recent works out of this world. More on the cultural side than popular music. Nothing compared to Fire Garden, though. There is supposedly a story behind this CD. Something about Pompoosh and other fictional characters. The songs fit the narrations by Steve. Yes, Steve Vai is quite emotional with his guitar. It's amazing what he does. Vai has a unique sound and yet his pieces have its own touch to it. "Glorious" has a bit of an Alien Love Secrets touch to it. "Lotus Feet" is the 7th track (supposedly the 7th tracks are the more powerful, emotional, less heavy songs). This song is a masterpiece! Though, the album ends with an absolute bang! "Under It All" is just mind-blowing! One of the most creative yet! Just listen closely and let raw emotion fill your mind.

Lyrics — 10
Lyrics were great. Poetic, yet they make sense. Steve us a genius. Especially with "Under It All."

Overall Impression — 8
It doesn't quite compare to Fire Garden at all! Well, Fire Garden has huge shoes to fill though. This album doesn't really have that classic Vai sound you'd expect. It's a bit different. But I don't think you'd find a song to hate. Though, I skip at "Yai Yai" often. If you're an old fan of Steve, buy it. But if you're new at his works, start with his Anthology, Alien Love Secrets, or Fire Garden.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date

    this album is realy great, i absolutely love the style and artwork. its like a whole different music genre altogether.