Stone Sour review by Stone Sour

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 27, 2002
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.9 (90 votes)
Stone Sour: Stone Sour

Sound — 9
The sound to this album varies in each song. It could be a heavy riff as in Get Inside or it could go to as very soft acoustic tone in the song Bother. Corey Taylor goes away from the screaming in Slipknot to a more softer tone in this side project. The drums do an amazing job of keeping up the tempo and do a good job of keeping the backround melody. What really makes this sound special are the guitars. Josh Rand has some amazing riffs and really makes a good sound. Jim Root provides that Slipknot twist that we all love.

Lyrics — 10
Corey Taylor uses this band to express his emotions. In Slipknot he does a lot of screaming in this band it appears he is more laid back. He sings about what he thinks is going on in the world and how he really feels about his life. The basic message in his solo Bother is the fact the he won't change who he is and he will always be this way. "I won't let go 'till it bleeds" is the last line of chorus and really express how he feels.

Overall Impression — 10
Overall this is definetly a must by for all Slipknot maggots. Corey definetly shows a side that everyone should see. The sound is very good and is really capurtes the mood in every song. The only downside is that the riffs might seen a little repetive and there isn't much difference between some of them. Ask anyone who has this album they will probably say its a must buy.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date