Page Avenue Review

artist: Story of the Year date: 08/01/2005 category: compact discs
Story of the Year: Page Avenue
Released: Sep 16, 2003
Genre: Rock
Number Of Tracks: 12
 Sound: 8.5
 Lyrics: 8.2
 Overall Impression: 8.5
 Overall rating:
 8.6 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.4 
 Users rating:
 8.8 
 Votes:
 24 
 Views:
 291 
reviews (11) 6 comments vote for this album:
overall: 10
Page Avenue Reviewed by: unregistered, on july 15, 2004
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Sound: The album is all over the place. But thats what makes Story Of The Year easy to listen to and enjoyable. Songs like And The Hero Will Drown and Burning Years represent Soty's more hardcore/emocore styles with the intense screaming. Songs like Page Avenue and Until The Day I Die are rather catchy while the band also incorporates Acoustic through Anthem Of Our dying Day and Sidewalks. Definatly a familiar style, but it doenst get old, its definatly a great piece of work. its worth the $13.99. // 10

Lyrics: Well, the band definatly has issues. Or maybe they just like to appear that way. like any good emo band, or at least a posing emo band, the lyrics are somewhat depressing. In this case, they mostly refer to death, ways of dying, reason for it and other various related topics. But most of the lyrics refer to either should I do it? or how can I stop it. So over all a very positively written CD with some depressing or concerning edge to it. Dan has an excellent voice, he can scream like Davey from AFI or george from Alexisonfire, but its alot easier to understand and hear, which makes his voice when he screams much more appealing. He doenst scream alot in a row, the opening song on the album "And The Hero Will Drown" is the most consistantly screamed song on the album. But usually he just incorporates the screams into various parts such as Prechorus' or Bridges. Basically, your not going to get alot of screaming, but your going to get some. This will satisfy the hardcore listeners. On the other end of things, Dan can sing like any other emocore frontman. Perhaps his voice is a bit more original than Incubus front man brendan, god I shouldnt even compare the 2, I hate incubus. But This is more like the Used Bert McCraken. Definatly a great buy if your into the used. // 10

Overall Impression: Well, personally, this is one of the better buys I've made. Next to Alexisonfire's debut album and the used debut, this album is a well done emocore piece of work. Easy to listen to play to stop without skipping. Generally, the songs sound different, but they have the same appeal to the listener, making it simple. I love the singing, the lyrics and the guitar playing. Very catchy. I would highly recommend Soty's debut "Page Avenue" for the emocore listeners. If you like the used, Billy Talent or Afi, you'll love story of the year. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Page Avenue Reviewed by: unregistered, on november 30, 2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: This album sounds perfect for their music style. They do all they can do for their sound. Songs like sidewalks are all poetic and slow, for example in verse 1,"the bridge is all crumbled, the water soaks in to rocks/that fell at the bottom of the road". that just puts something soft in your head even though what they're talking about was the aftermath of a terrible accident. Also, songs like Divide and conquer have guitars with heavy distortion and the song even has this eerie intro that sounds like some raining city. THen theres Page avenue, which is a mixture of the 2, heavy guitars and poetic lyrics. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics can be poetic and soft to heavy and screaming. For songs like Dive Right In, the lyrics are great even though you know what they're about (suicide). Overall I think Dan did great with the lyrics to fit the guitars. // 10

Overall Impression: This album sounds like all the other rock stars nowadays(Lostprophets, Papa Roach, etc.), but SOTY's album feels like a "best of" album with those other bands. So yeah, it's better than most things I've been listening to. I think the best songs are Until the day I die, Anthem of our dying day, and sidewalks. I also think the outro of Page Avenue gives you a taste of Adams real skill as a bassist. He should do things like that more often. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Page Avenue Reviewed by: Razeon, on july 02, 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Story Of The Year's music is something different thats for sure. It's got a nice ring to it. It's very catchy. I think it's one of those albums that could play at a party and not have to worry about anyone complaining about the music. Story's music is very loud, upbeat, and invigorating. I love this band and their album. They kind of have a sound of Thrice and No Warning to them, but the singer, Dan, has a unique voice that is unmatchable. It's very cool! Definently one of my favourites. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics are heavy - feelings wise. If the band went through any of the things that they wrote about, which I'm almost positive they did, then no wonder they chose to write about them. Though some of the lyrics are depressing for some of the songs, they don't vent it out in an outburst of Rage, such as Three Days Grace. Story Of The Year's lyrics can be used as examples of teen/young adult friendships gone horribly wrong, even relationships gone wrong, but they don't sit there and complain about it like Simple Plan does with theirs. They kind of explain it in the sense of "Ok, this happened, onto the next", which, I think, is the best way to do it. Dan hits some noticible high vocals. He screams, but the band itself isn't classified as screamo. The screaming actually fits in with the music, instead of being totally off key, like some other bands out there. It's actually good screaming. // 10

Overall Impression: My overall impression of this band is very high. I have much respect for these guys. They aren't just some waste-of-time band. This is actually a very good band! Their best songs are probably "Until The Day I Die," "Anthem Of Our Dying Day," "Razorblades," "Page Avenue" and "Divide And Conquer." I love the sound of this album the best. It's very loud and very appealing, inspite of it's loudness, however, not exactly your mom's dream music because of it (unless your mom likes the same music you do. I know my mom doesn't). If this album was stolen and/or lost, I would definently get it again. It's just so good! Either that or I would track down the jerk who took it and kick the s--t out of him/her. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Page Avenue Reviewed by: unregistered, on january 21, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sounds of this awesome can't compare to others it does better. Aside from the huge anticapation of the AFI cd this cd sounds and flows good and you can't pick this cd up, listen to a couple songs and not pass it up. The rhythyms are smooth and the awesome sound that the drums, bass, guitar, and vocals produce are excellent. If you like punk of course. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics of the vocalist Dan Marsala is poetic and he sings about things in every day life, like "Until The Day I Die" talks about how when you love and care so much about dies he would die with them. And "Anthem Of Our Dying Days" which talks about the death of a person everyday by violence, sickness, or if they're just crazy. // 8

Overall Impression: This cd is for all punks and hardcore people who like that kind of stuff. This cd has some flaws here and there like the screaming which is really for heavy metal but they don't do it alot. This band started because they wanted their message loud in clear in song form and they did it. This is a must have and you can't past it up. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Page Avenue Reviewed by: hardcorpunker88, on april 12, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: This an excellent CD in all aspects. That is if you like punk and metal. They have tendencies to be fast paced punk to moderate paced hard rock to slow at some places. Track 5 is one of my favorites because it almost sounds metal instead of punk. I like both so that's cool. The sound is set apart for a punk band. // 10

Lyrics: This CD has excellent lyrics. Most of the lyrics are dark, but melodic. The lyrics really fit in with the guitar parts. You wont find any stupid lyrics like Blink 182. They are all original. All though strage at some parts, for example...they sing about cyborgs...but maybe I just dont get the meaning. Lyrically, Story of the Year rules. Also, the singers ability to be punk, but also to scream like in hardcore rock/metal is in itself a reason to buy this album if you are a punk rocker or a heavy metaler, although he is punk more than screaming. // 10

Overall Impression: Overall, this CD is definately worth the $10.00 at Best Buy. For the younger people though it has a strangely given Parental Advisory as there is not 1 curse word in the album. It is mostly the nature of the lyrics and mood, I guess. This is a great album. If you get it (it is more than worth it), check out track two and four as they are my favorites. If this was stolen, I would kick the guys ass who stole it. If I couldn't I would definitely buy another one. This is one of my best CD's I have next to Wonder What's Next? by Chevelle and About a Burning Fire by Blindside (I recommend both). Also there is a little bit of humor at the CD, but it isnt very special. Overall, BUY THIS CD. IT IS GREAT. One of the best. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 6.7
Page Avenue Reviewed by: unregistered, on april 21, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The Album is produced by John Feldman (produced the Used, lead singer of gold finger) and it echoes a lot of the same type of music that the used put out a year ago. If you look at the title of the songs in the CD, most of them have a title with death, dying or something to do with death in them, and a lot of this album is about death...not very original. It's predictable emocore, but when Dan (lead-singer) screams into the microphone, you can't help but appreciate how much this band wants it. I want to be clear that this CD is nothing new, its all been done before. Emo-Core at its most generic form. // 6

Lyrics: Some of the lyrics are amazingly witty, and some are sooo generic that I almost want to vomit on myself. SOTY echoes the same motifs used by other emo-core/metal/punk bands of the past 5 years and its all mostly about love, love lost, death, life back home, and the typical "back before we were big" songs. Dan Marsala is an amazing vocalist...much like Bert of the Used because he is amazing at switching between his screaming voice to a beautiful one. The only thing that bugs me about Feldman is that he is going out and finding bands to market to a particular type of person that likes a certain type of sound. Story of the Year is sooo different from the Used, but at the same time, you can't help but feel like they have something in common. Possibly just through the producing. // 6

Overall Impression: Most of the songs are very catchy...this was made to be pop...and you can really get into them. I think the album has some sort of intanglible and undescribable quality that made it one of the better alternative albums of 2003. It is a cookie cutter of many bands from the late-nineties and early 2000's, but at the same time, this band sounds sooo hungry. You can't help but keep putting it in the CD player to ask for more. If you're looking for music to blow your brains out, its not here. If you want some catchy emo-core to sit and relax to, and don't mind being tagged a poser, then Story is for you. If you like the Used, you will like this band. But don't be mad at me when you see the starting quarterback of your football team blasting this song out of his camaro when he is driving into the school parking lot...this is pop. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.7
Page Avenue Reviewed by: unregistered, on september 20, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: This cd has got some of the best sound I've ever heard. On songs like Sidewalks they go soft, and in the hero will drown it is all hard rock. The guitaring is awesome on Until The Day I Die and if you've never heard the guitaring for Divide and Conquer, your truly missing out on something. Dan Marsala has got such a voice, how he can sing soft and then scream like he does, it's just awesome. In the Shadows is a cool sound because after the last verse, a few of them sing the first part of the chorus without any instruments. // 8

Lyrics: The lyrics are poetic. The best lyrics are for Dive Right In. I don't think that because it sounds like you wanna kill yourself, I like it because it sounds like you wanna get away from everything. And in another song they sing I think nothing can fly with this broken wing. Story Of The Year should stay with the same poetic lyrics, but still keep it original. // 10

Overall Impression: I have a hard time deciding whether or not Blink 182, Speakerboxxx, or this is the better cd. If your a fan of those or groups like Taking Back Sunday or Led Zepplin you want this. If I lost it I would buy it for the cost of a new ps2 game. My favorite songs have got to be Dive Right In and Razorblades. The guitaring rocks and the lyrics are strong. I totally suggest to buy this. P.S. That razorblade song sounds familar, does anyone know where I heard it. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8
Page Avenue Reviewed by: redshift_101, on september 21, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Now here is a band, who's songs definitely all sound very similar. Not quite the same, but similar. They have a great sound to them. Heavy at times but also giving you a chance to breathe and enjoy the melody. They don't have very many catchy riffs so much as really good bridges. There are no solos on this album, but they make up for it with really catchy chord progressions. // 8

Lyrics: The lead singer of SOTY has a great voice that I can listen to over and over again. Their lyrics sway from being incredible good and insightful to being so lame you actually cringe when you hear them. But for the most part I was able to overlook it. Their lyrics are generally about them same thing: depression, death, suicide, my life sucks. There's nothing really 'happy' on the album, but if the formula works, stick with it. // 8

Overall Impression: Some of the highlights on Page Avenue are Razorblades, Until The Day I Die, Page Avenue and Sidewalks. Overall, this is a good rock album to listen to when you're feeling mellow or depressed. If lost this album, I don't know if I'd buy it again. I'd probably get a friend to copy it for me, but pick it up anyways for the first time at least. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8
Page Avenue Reviewed by: canadian_woo, on december 28, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound of this CD is sot of like a mix between The Used and Taking Back Sunday. Not saying that Story Of The Year are a rip off of those bands they don't sound exactly the same. The album follows a common format which is vocals that go from quite to a scream behind loud or soft guitar. // 8

Lyrics: The lyrics didn't particularly stand out for me except for the songs; "Until The Day I Die" and "Anthem Of Our Dying Day". The vocals suit the music good and Dan Marsala has a good scream on him. // 8

Overall Impression: I'm sure this album will be the bench mark that Story Of The Year will try and beat when releasing their next album. I think the most impressive tracks on the album are "Until The Day I Die", "Dive Right In" and "Anthem Of Our Dying Day". The thing I like most about this album was the guitar riffs (I think Ryan Philips and Phil Sneed are to very impressive guitarists). If this CD were lost or stolen I would probably just download it or burn it off a friend. I suggest if you are thinking of buying this album you should have a listen to it first on the net or in the store before buying it. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Page Avenue Reviewed by: a7x41, on march 10, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound on this CD is great. SOTY mixes acoustic & electric guitars in Anthem Of Our Dying Day pretty good. They mix styles from punk and some metal and come up with an awesome CD. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics on Page Avenue are mostly associated with death. Here's what the songs are about. 01. And The Hero Will Drown (3:13) - I'm not exactly sure what this is about, but it has parts about death and getting things taken away. 02. Until The Day I Die (3:55) - the 1st single off the album, it's a love song and "spill(ing) my heart for you." It's one of my favorites. 03. Anthem Of Our Dying Day (3:36) - the 2nd single, I think its about showing your love for someone through a song. 04. In The Shadows (3:33) - I don't really like this song and don't understand it. 05. Dive Right In (3:15) - one of my favorite songs, I'm pretty sure its about going away forever. I like how he uses drowning as a metaphor. 06. Swallow The Knife (3:37) - this is another relationship song about having problems with your partner. 07. Burning Years (3:07) - a pretty OK song about friendship and holding on. 08. Page Avenue (3:37) - not the greatest chorus, but the song is about looking to the future after looking back at the past. 09. Sidewalks (3:34) - the 3rd single & my least favorite song. It's about his childhood or something like that & how he misses it now. 10. Divide And Conquer (3:04) - one of the harder songs about death and dancing corpes. WTF? Anyways, another part of the song is about listening to others and hurting yourself. 11. Razorblades (3:23) - a song about a friend who takes advantage of you. 12. Falling Down (3:58) - this is the shortest song. It's only about a minute long and then has 2 minutes of the band messing around. The song's about being alone and having mental instability. // 8

Overall Impression: This is about my 8th favorite CD (out of about the 50 that I have) and my favorite emo-core CD. I like just about every song, but I especially like Until The Day I Die & Divide And Conquer. If any of you assholes even think about stealing this, I'll take the broken pieces of my burned Yellowcard CD (damn I hate yellowcrap) and cut your throat with it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 2.7
Page Avenue Reviewed by: unregistered, on august 01, 2005
0 of 6 people found this review helpful

Sound: This is an okay sounding album, and I mean that the production is good. The guitar work, the singing, and everything else is just the same old emo bulls--t that we've been hearing for the last few years. Sounds like every other emo/hardcore band. // 4

Lyrics: This being an emo/alternative cliche album, you have to have some of those emo cliche lyrics to go with all of the half-ass, crappily written songs. Very unimpressive and very unoriginal. Death, suicide, and other negative topics are continually all that this album is about. I have to give it credit though; it made me want to kill myself. // 2

Overall Impression: There are no good qualities on this CD. It was probably one of the worst CD's I've ever heard. Thankfully, I didn't buy it, I only borrowed it, but I gave it back almost immediately. I love nothing about it and I hate everything that it's about it, if it were stolen, I wouldn't give a shit. I'd leave out in the open for someone to steal it. Just terrible. // 2

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
Comments
BIU:)
Only "https" links are allowed for pictures,
otherwise they won't appear