Lovers At Lightspeed review by Sugar Glyder

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 11, 2011
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 0 (0 votes)
Sugar Glyder: Lovers At Lightspeed

Sound — 10
North Carolina's indie band, Sugar Glyder is one well-oiled music machine. With the combined talents of Daniel Howie, Chris Rigo, Bobby Mathews and Emily Aoyagi, Sugar Glyder has breathed new life into the grandiose, hopelessly optimistic indie-pop sounds of the last decade simply by scrapping the formula. Sugar Glyder has developed a sound that carries from song to song without sounding repetitive, yet hitting hooks to leave a chorus lingering in the listener's mind. They continue down the path it started with solid instrumentation, strong vocals and balanced songwriting that doesn't skimp on the electric guitar handiwork. For this album they decided to release an EP instead of a full length album. Honestly, after listening to this album a few times it feels very complete. Something I wouldn't expect from an EP. The band has announced that this is a themed album and is sort of a cyclical, seasonal oriented album. The band has also mentioned that "EP" has a double meaning. It doesn't just stand for the standard "extended play" but also stands for "epic poem" for this album and tells a full story. With all this said, I couldn't imagine the album without any one of these 6 songs.

Lyrics — 9
The vocals are very solid throughout "Lovers At Lightspeed". There are many more group vocals/harmonies on this release. Songs like, "Deep Into Summer" and "The Work (And What May Come)" feature Chris Rigo and Bobby Mathews performing the chorus hooks in harmony. Daniel Howie shows strong vocals and a mature sense of control. The lyrics span from light hearted and playful with songs such as, "Song Holiday" and "Ocean, I Love You" to dark and contemplative with songs such as, "8" and "The Work (And What May Come)".

Overall Impression — 9
This album picks up close to where their 2009 release "Poor Baby Zebra" left off. The songs are the strongest they have written and the band seems to have grown a lot musically in the year and half between releases.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date