Chuck review by Sum 41

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 4, 2004
  • Sound: 4
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 4
  • Reviewer's score: 5.3 Decent
  • Users' score: 9.1 (115 votes)
Sum 41: Chuck

Sound — 4
I know people are going to get angry here, but from a musician's point of view this album, although very well played, isn't even theirs. Specifically, they rip off riffs from Metallica, SOAD, Linkin Park, and a few others. This album shows they can play very fast, hard music. I just wish it was theirs.

Lyrics — 8
I thought his writing skills when I came to the lyrics have truly stepped up a notch on this album and will continue into whatever else they write.

Overall Impression — 4
Again, if this album wasn't a compilation of other bands songs I wouldn't be so upset with Sum 41, and for those who disagree, listen to Metallica's Battery, and then listen to Sum 41's The Bitter End, for heaven's sake, the chord progressions are almost perfectly identical! I think Sum 41 is very talented and I wish they would show it through their own writing, not rips of other bands.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date