Chuck review by Sum 41

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 4, 2004
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.1 (116 votes)
Sum 41: Chuck

Sound — 9
This is quite a bit heavier than their previous stuff. The tracks 'We're All To Blame' and 'No Reason' are a great example of this masterpiece and also the softer tracks such as 'Pieces' and 'Slipping Away' add more depth to the album, proving they are not some heavy metal band. The final track (apart from the 3 bonus tracks) '88' is a 4:30 long song which has an amazing riff and a strange but excellent ending. The ending makes you feel like you are floating around space and you are never going to get home. The first bonus track 'Noots' is a very good track with a good melody. 'Moron' is a short track which was featured on 'Rock Against Bush Vol. II'. It's quite a heavy track that is similar to other tracks on the album. Finally, 'Subject to Change' sums up the whole album and contains the lyrics from the end of 'No Reason' in one part of the song. Excellent album.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics are great apart from the fact that all the songs are about pretty much the same thing, like 'faking it' and being to blame!

Overall Impression — 10
This is amazing. This is a lot different to their more well known material (although it does have some similarity to 'does this look infected'). The best songs on the album are 'We're All To Blame', 'No Reason', 'Open Your Eyes', 'There's No Solution' and '88'. There is pretty much nothing to hate on this record and I would buy again no matter how many times I lose it.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    they did alot of different stuff on this one. Bitter End was my favorite, but that's cuz i'm more of a metal fan now. i wouldn't give it 10/10 because of the crappy acoustic tracks (actually, "pieces" was good but the other two were a waste of track space on the CD imo). "Some Say" sounds like ****ing avril lavigne....NOT, is it cuz he's married to her? okay, last thing: i'm pissed that dave left the band but i'm definitely gonna pick up his new band's album when it comes out. no question. maybe they'll survive this and come out stronger...maybe not tho.