Does This Look Infected? review by Sum 41

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 25, 2002
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.5 (64 votes)
Sum 41: Does This Look Infected?

Sound — 9
Sum 41 has come up with a slightly more "metallic" sound in this album. Some songs, like "Hyper-Insomnia-Para-Condrioid," "Billy Spleen" and "Hooch" have a very different, heavier and deeper sound from the other Sum 41 albums. But the sound on "Hell Song," "No Brains" and "Still Waiting" make this album the darkest album yet released by this Canadian band. They have got rid of their pop-punk image with a more punk rock sound.

Lyrics — 10
Deryck's singing has got better with every album. From the soft vocals at the end of "Hooch" to the anguished screaming in "Still Waiting" is what drives this album. The lyrics, again, are much darker than the lyrics in the previous albums. Instead of songs about getting dumped and crashing parties, the lyrics are about "Still Waiting" for the government and the world to find some kind of agreement. "Thanks For Nothing" is also around the same theme. The backup vocals are much sharper than in the previous albums.

Overall Impression — 9
Sum 41 has released another amazing album. From Deryck's amazing vocals, Dave's brilliant solos and Steve's great drumming solos and extremely hard riffs, this album showcases Sum 41's talent. Personal favorites: "The Hell Song," "My Direction" and "All Messed Up." This album also shows how Sum 41 has matured with much darker, deep and more mature lyrics. In fact, the only songs that seem like they might fit in the previous albums are "My Direction" and "All Messed Up." They might have lost a few fans with a much heavier album, but gained alot more respect for their talent in this album.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date