Screaming Bloody Murder review by Sum 41

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 29, 2011
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9 (247 votes)
Sum 41: Screaming Bloody Murder

Sound — 10
After a rather disappointing album in Underclass Hero, which was essentially two or three decent tracks stuck between filler, canadian pop punk favourites Sum 41 have exploded back onto the scene with an album that not only goes a little way to a return to roots but also makes the band relevant once again. Tom Thacker joins the band after filling in on tour after the departure of Dave "Brownsound" Baksh and his input can clearly be heard on the album with crunching riffs and excellent backing vocals. Steve "Steve-o" Jocz drumming is superb and really holds the tracks together along with Cone McAslin's bass playing which is always underrated. The band have gone someway to reviving the raw punky sound of Does This Look Infected and Chuck but combining it with more mature song writing which sounds like a band who are now in their 30's instead of a band of 20 somethings trying to be teenagers. Deryck Whibley's lyrics and vocal strength have improved ten fold since their earlier albums and he has a much more creative flow to his writing than say on All Killer No Filler.

Lyrics — 10
Deyck Whribley pours his heart out into the lyrics giving the album a punchy, emotional and personal feeling to it. You can hear traces of the pain caused by his divorce to Avril Lavigne in songs like What Am I To Say, and it lends a very real sense to the album - instead of bands singing about make-believe relationships or high school love you get a man pouring his heart out about something that has caused him hardship.

Overall Impression — 10
Buy this album - a return to form for a band that were lacking in creativity after earlier work. An excellent album of strong tracks - I dont think there was a single song I wouldnt love to listen to again and again. After the lacklustre Underclass Hero, Sum 41 can now be considered to be BACK!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date