Subject To Change review by Switched

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 26, 2002
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 6
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (3 votes)
Switched: Subject To Change

Sound — 8
The guitar is pretty good, very useful, though sometimes the riffs get repetitive. As stated the vocal style is screaming/singing, it's good, not the best but fits the rest of the music rather well. Drums are very good, with some machine-gun bass, psuedo-industrial and classic metal rule the CD. Bass is harder to hear, but it is done fairly well. Overall some songs seem jumbled, and one (Last Chance) even stands out as one of those good songs with crap verses, but overly awesome chorus'.

Lyrics — 6
The lyrics in the CD are good, but definetly not great, some of the lyrics are simplisticly penned. But others are done extremely well, such as the song Wrongside, where the verses are beautifully penned, and the song actually gives off a feeling of betrayal, or anger. The song Last Chance is well written also, especially the chorus, slightly haunting.

Overall Impression — 10
Back when this was released this was a somewhat newer idea, nu-metal/hard rock with singing vocals and screaming. Though even today it stands out against the crowd. This album is one of my favorite of all time, as all of the songs are listenable, and some seethe pure greatness.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    There aren't any bands pummeling out this genre of music anymore. This record rocks hard and it's become one of my favorites. Great to rock to with the windows down on a warm summer evening.