Hypnotize review by System of a Down

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 22, 2005
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.8 (1,157 votes)
System of a Down: Hypnotize

Sound — 9
This is by far system's heaviest album yet! And holds some of the best songs including Holy Mountains and Kill Rock N' Roll, this is the last in the 2 album line-up, Hypnotize is the bands 5th album after its predececor, Mezmerize. This has pretty much all the same effects on the guitar throghout the CD, but does have some sweet micro effects! Great album.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics, well they are very strong and meaningful, they are about the world and war, un-neccesary killing and anal sex, also some rather random talk of "terracotta pie"? Yes, I'm not sure either? But as always they manage to deliver some very strong but fantastic words that'll keep you humming for weeks!

Overall Impression — 9
This is one of their best CDs, an essential if you prefer system of a down's heavier side. Althought the riffs on the first to tracks are preety alike? But who gives a monkeys arse! System rule and they really hit the spot with this classic CD! Well worth the wait.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date