Hypnotize review by System of a Down

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 22, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.8 (1,157 votes)
System of a Down: Hypnotize

Sound — 10
System Of A Down has yet again produced another brilliant CD, Hypnotize this CD sounds as if it spans the different styles System has evolved from over the years for instance some songs sounds as if their from the Toxcicity era and others closely resemble thier self-titled CD. Not only do they get back to their roots but they create unique and strange songs only system would be capable of combining metal, jazz, pop, and alternative into a whole melting pot of various noises created from the brilliant mind of Daron Malakian and the rest of the band.

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics in Hypnotize not only impress but astound with their talk of government corroption Propoganda and Conspiracies, but thats what we all expect of SOAD but then the come up with the bizarre and Strange lyrics from songs like Vicinity Of Obcenity that screech out strange ramblings like bananan banana terra cott pie and then quickly jumps into a retro jazz like beat speaking of whores with bad feet overall impression is Daran certainly stepped up to the plate on this album because his vocals blend in with Serje's harmony and make a dual vocal that SOAD has never been able to pull off until now.

Overall Impression — 10
Hypnotize definitely makes the grade the cd acts as a retrospective accomplishment and shows just how much their style has evolved and changed over time but their dedication hasn't. System Of A Down has the answer to what todays rock should sound like they prove themselves with this CD and show their here to stay and not die out like some mainstream pop Blink 182 garbage after listening to this CD dozens of times over since I got it last week I would consider it the best SOAD cd yet so go buy it what the hell are you doing reading the rest of this.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date