Mezmerize review by System of a Down

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 17, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.5 (389 votes)
System of a Down: Mezmerize

Sound — 10
I have been a fan of System Of A Down since they first came out with "Sugar" and I think they have improved by leaps and bounds as a band. The drumming and guitar on this CD sound unlike anything I have heard in a long time, there just isn't anyone you can compare these guys to. I also thought the bass was less prominent on this CD but it really wasn't that big of deal to me. This CD is kick ass, and the only people who aren't going to like this CD are the douschebags who punch people in the mosh pits. So if you are a fan of good music buy this CD along with the other 4 CD's. If you are just a fan of loud, insane music you will be very dissapointed.

Lyrics — 8
This will probably sound alot like other reviews but I did enjoy the lighter side of System Of A Down on this CD. Although some lyrics may sound non-sensical, I listen to every song as if it has a different meaning. However, people that like songs where the meaning is in the title itself, will not enjoy this CD at all. If you enjoy listening to creative lyrics that make you think you should also buy this CD.

Overall Impression — 10
This CD is pretty badass and if you have never listened to SOAD before I would suggest listening to Violent Pornography before you listen to any other song on this CD. This song along with Sad Statue and Question! are probably the most encompassing songs on this CD in that it is not the same as their other releases but you can still tell it is SOAD to the core. They don't care about what other people think about their music, they make music straight from their souls, and if you have an open mind you will find this out very quickly.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date