Mezmerize review by System of a Down

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 17, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8.5 (388 votes)
System of a Down: Mezmerize

Sound — 10
SOAD is definetly my favorite metal band out there. Daron is an unbelievable guitarist and had a lot of new and innovative riffs in the albums. Shavo's bass was rocking. John's drumming changed from there other albums, but not neccessarly for the worse. He didn't pound the drums as much as before and he did alot more cymbal work in this album which just shows he's getting better and better. Very good band.

Lyrics — 10
SOAD haven't lost their roots at all with this album. They have their political song writing in a few song, "BYOB," "Soldier's Side." Serj and Daron are awesome songwriters I only hope the other half of the double set, Hypnotize, is half as good lyrically.

Overall Impression — 10
They had less songs that were nothing more then just noise in this album. They had a lot more meaning, but they didn't go soft either. Best songs are "BYOB," "Question!" "Sad Statue," "Lost In Hollywood," "Radio/Video" and "Violent Pornography." If I lost this album I'd definetly buy it again, and I'm buying Hypnotize no matter what as well.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date