Mezmerize review by System of a Down

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 17, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8.5 (389 votes)
System of a Down: Mezmerize

Sound — 10
First off, System Of A Down rocks. Always trying to do something different. And they've struck gold with this album. The first thing I noticed is that the album is more melodic, actually following scales. Also, the bassist Shavo has turned down his amp, being shunned by Daron. Who is amazing anyways, but has created may amazing riffs, like in Sad Statue, Radio/Video, Question, Byob, and Lost In Hollywood. Some people have said they sold out. I dont think so. I have been a long time system fan and this seemed just as appealing to me as the other albums.

Lyrics — 10
System always has had an interesting lyrical choice. From highly political lyrics, like Byob, to fun and random lyrics, like Cigaro and Violent Pornography, to serious lyrics, as in Lost In Hollywood. Very good. If you didn't notice, Daron takes on a lot more singing now. He really shines in Cigaro, Byob, and of course Lost In Hollywood. Very great change, very nice.

Overall Impression — 10
This is an album to remember. I think that these following songs should be singles: Byob, Cigaro, Radio/Video, Sad Statue, Violent Pornorgaphy, and Lost In Hollywood. Very impressive overall. I've lost many hours of sleep to this CD. I listen to it non stop. It has opened up new doors to my bass playing and my alt. metal bands perspective of playing. If you like the early SOAD, get the album. If you don't like the early SOAD (what are you smoking) go get the album. If you hate rap/hip-hop and love a good old fashion rock and roll album, get this god damn album!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date