Steal This Album! Review

artist: System of a Down date: 08/11/2005 category: compact discs
System of a Down: Steal This Album!
Released: Nov 26, 2002
Genre: Rock
Styles: Heavy Metal, Alternative Metal
Number Of Tracks: 16
 Sound: 9.8
 Lyrics: 9.3
 Overall Impression: 9.6
 Overall rating:
 9.2 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.5 
 Users rating:
 8.9 
 Votes:
 144 
 Views:
 2,413 
reviews (16) 32 comments vote for this album:
overall: 10
Steal This Album! Reviewed by: unregistered, on august 11, 2005
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Sound: The best thing about SOAD is their sound. The best way to describe it would be to say that they simply do not sound like any other band on this planet. They take metal, punk, pop and just about every other genre ever and fuse them together in a perfect mix to create a metal album like no other. I have read many reviews from loads of sites saying how 'it's just noise recorded with some guy trying to sing over it' for one thing Serj's powerful voice is fantastic and the amount of vocal techniques he can throw into one song is ridiculous, two - Daron's guitar playing has been rated by many guitar magazine to be some of the best ever, as for bass player Shavo and drum player John they are also superb veterans of their field. The many things that 'System' are the one thing they are not is recorded noise. Their sound is unique, incredible, inspiring and as catchy as hell. // 10

Lyrics: Some people say this is SOAD weak point but in fact it seems to me like just another strong point. Seriously how many people could rant about pepperoni and green peppers, mushrooms, olive, chives (first track on this album - Chic 'n' Stu) and get away with it? I am a lead singer for a metal band myself like Serj and I do my own lyric writing, like Serj, and I can write serious lyrics no problem but when it comes to blending serious and humour I have a big problem, Serj is genious and since Daron does a fair bit of lyric writing also, so is he. // 10

Overall Impression: The thing about this album, in fact SOAD in general is that they don't compare to any other band on the planet, ever! Their is and has been no one that sound anything like these guys. Focusing on this album which is made up of tracks that SOAD decided not to release but in the end did (thank the almighty they did to) it's just the same old System - purely incredible. Real stand out tracks are - A.D.D. (American Dream Denial), F--k The System, Roulette And Streamline, all the tracks are pretty damn brilliant but these are the ones that stand out the most. This album used to be pretty hard to track down but I got my special edition one from HMV for 4.99 so you shouldn't be too hard pressed to find a copy and its well worth tracking down, a superb album yet again. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Steal This Album! Reviewed by: unregistered, on may 10, 2004
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Sound: This album uses some effects, but I don't think many are used. The band tune their guitar to drop D, (annoying if your trying to learn their stuff), but it sounds great and heavy. The guitar really is awesome on this album, as previously with System of a Down, with some great riffs and solos. The bass and drum also really stands out. The sound in this album is different interesting and above all awesome. I'm not exagerating when I give 5 stars. I feel thwe sound is excellent. // 10

Lyrics: SoaD have very political lyrics, (such as in previous tracks, pluck, Prison Song and War?) and this album is no exception. Just listen to Boom! Fuck the System and American Dream Denial! In my opinion the best lyrics any groups come up with... // 10

Overall Impression: Review of System of a Down- Steal this album! Reviewed by Flexos C., 2002 Sony Music This album was released in 2002 in the Uk, although I didn't get my copy until the end of 2003, as I was a bit unsure when it came out as I hadn't really heard much of SoaD's (System of a Down's) music. I then bought the first album, which by the way is awesome. I also the got Toxicity, which is one of the greatest CD's I own, so Steal this Album had a lot to live up to, and I'm happy to say it didn't disappoint. I was relieved to find out it kept the political views and lyrics of the first album, (this time in tracks such as Boom, American Dream Denial and Fuck the System) with the creativity and comforting weirdness of Toxicity, (in new tracks like Chic' n Stu and I-E-A-I-A-I-O). Out of the 16 tracks on this album, most are classics, some are brilliant and other's are great. It's not too different from the other albums, so if you like SoaD, this is a must. However, if (somehow) you weren't impressed by the other albums, then this probably isn't worth getting. My personal favourite track remains A.D.D because of the strong angry lyrics, the awesome riffs, and strange vocals. However, as I've said, all of the tracks are good. I will say, though that Toxicity and the self-titled album probably provide more enjoyable listening. (Marginally.) A must for SoaD fans and anyone who enjoys a bit of amazing metal. Although a 5- star rating in my eyes, this album may not to be everyones tastes, so I'll give it 4 out 5. One last note: as great as it sounds, I wish System wouldn't retune their guitars for every track. It's fucking annoying, when you're a fan who wants to learn their stuff, (as I'm sure fans will have found out), so can you all PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE put more System of a Down song on the site in Standard tuning! Thanks for reading my review. Feel free to email me with comments or questions at feesk8ordie@hotmail.com // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.7
Steal This Album! Reviewed by: rmr024, on october 03, 2005
2 of 5 people found this review helpful

Sound: When I was first introduced to System, it was Toxicity. Then Mezmerize which were both great albums. I really like the sound of SOAD. With their political/goth/metal and all. Then I was told all of a sudden that they had another album! The sound on this album is great. Ego Brain is one of the coolest things my ears have ever heard. It's probably my favorite song on the album. 36 has a sweet sound too. Overall the sound on this album is hardcore metal. But I actually think they should have added a little more cool sounding things like Ego Brain. // 8

Lyrics: The lyrics on this album are pretty sweet. Although the verse on fuck the System is totally messed up, almost comical, but thats SOAD for you, extremely political. ADD is one of the songs I'm talking about: "We don't give a f--k about your world... there is no flag large enough to hide the shame of the man in cuffs..." Serj is a really talented singer and is able to sing really fast, like in I-E-A-I-A-I-O. Also, like I mentioned, in F--k The System, you try singing that weird thing he sings. It's really hard! // 7

Overall Impression: I think this is a rally great album, better than Mezmerize but it doesn't even compare to Toxicity. I would recommend Toxicity as a first album. The most impressive song on the album is Ego Brain because the sound is just awesome. I love the cool songs with non-metal stuff like Roulette and Ego Brain. I like the songs that are all out metal but they all just get old to fast. If I lost this CD I wouldn't care to much because I have it on my iTunes, but if I didn't have iTunes I would probably buy it just for Ego Brain. I love that song. This is a great album but not System's best! Get Toxicity first! // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Steal This Album! Reviewed by: black_sabbath, on february 20, 2006
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sound: Incredible, would be an understatement for such an album. Even though I am not a hardcore SOAD fan, I have to admit this album is one of the best in the last few years as far as hard rock or even metal is concerned. Great ideals, amazing messages, and brilliant sound - that is one way of describing this album. While most bands sat and turned their heads away from the Iraq war, this band along with a few others, showed the world that they are not afraid of the US government. // 10

Lyrics: This has to be the best part of all SoaD albums. With quite political lyrics interpreted in various methods, System Of A Down is the band, not shy of showing the world what they really think. The track boom is a great example. I particularly liked the lyrics in Boom, The Prison Song, Chop Suey, Highway Song, and Fuck The System. The voice of SOAD was really new to me and in more than one way unique, it is a entirely different genre which is pretty awesome. // 10

Overall Impression: This is a great album, but Hypnotize and Mezmerize are equally good if not better. The best songs according to me are Needles, Chop Suey, Mr. Jack, Boom!, Prison Song while the rest are also quite decent. I love the fact that they voice opinions fearlessly, and the video of Boom was just the ultimate. This is a genre which is quite new and already mastered by the undisputed System Of A Down. If you ask me, I'd say go ahead and steal this album! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Steal This Album! Reviewed by: boyan89, on july 07, 2006
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound on this album blew me away with the incredible sound. The guitars on this album are just amazing I think that Daron is a guitar good and he has some insane riffs especially in the song's ADD, Nuguns, Boom and Chic N' Stu. The bass is insane on this album System Of A Down have one of the greatest bassists ever. The drums on this album blew me away, their drummer plays with such rage and just bangs the shit out of the bass drum. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics on this album blew me away with laughter and they are also very political too. This band has always amazed in their songwritng style I mean who can sing 2 minutes and 30 seconds about peas and pizzas and stuff like that. I have never ever heard a band that has lyrics like these they are hilarious and I think they should have made more albums like this. // 10

Overall Impression: This album cannot compare to any other artists because as I mentioned SOAD have their own metal sound. I don't have a favourite song on this album because they all rule. I hate nothing about this album I love every single moment it is pumping through my mp3 player or computer. If it were stolen/lost I would run to the store and buy a copy. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
Steal This Album! Reviewed by: talia., on february 14, 2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: Well first, we can all agree that System of a Down has a very unique sound. Steal This Album! I think is a bit different from their previous albums. No two songs sound the same on this record. Very eclectic record; some somewhat slow songs, and very upbeat/fast songs. The complexity of this ablum is unimaginable. I don't usually listen to drums, but the drums on this album are amazing. Guitar and bass are phenomenal on every song. There is no way you can get bored listening to this album. I believe there are 4 or 5 different CD covers for the record, because each member came up with their own cover, and then there is the generic cover. The record is awesome. // 10

Lyrics: The majority of the lyrics on this album are very political. Even if you're not a political person, this album still rocks. One song in specific, Boom!, is of the singer, Serj, talking. It sounds of if it is a poem, and then the chorus comes in strong. Very few songs on this record have simple lyrics (F--k The System), but they get the message across. The mix of Serj and Daron's voice on the songs compliment the harmony of the songs, which makes it a better record. // 9

Overall Impression: This album does not compare to any other album I've ever heard, not even another SOAD album. The variety of songs on the albums gives you a taste of a different side of SOAD. I-E-A-I-A-I-O is one of the best songs on the ablum, in my opinion. The song Streamline is so harmonic, but at the same time very, very hard. Chic 'n' Stu is a funny song but at the same time has a great message. This is my favorite album by SOAD, although there were very few singles released from it. I recommend it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
Steal This Album! Reviewed by: myampgoesto11, on march 16, 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Anything I say that compliments SOAD would be an understatement. It has been skillfully put together, song by song, riff by riff. This is by far their most enjoyable album. Mixing the light, heavy, and sometimes, the just plain wierd, this is definatly ear candy. According to some sources, Innervision was the hardest song to write in all 66 System Of A Down, and I can agree. All of these songs are worthy of that title, the way they sound. Though I said it about the self-titled album, I hadn't been able to bask in Steal This Album's glory at that point, this is their best album. At I won't change my mind. System Of A Down has also shattered stereotypes, and this CD takes is to the next level. Songs like Chic 'N' Stu are songs that come once every 500 years. They're truely unique to SOAD. From the squeaky short riffs of Chic 'N' Stu, you get these darker, more heavier riffs of Innervision. This album brings the best of both worlds, squeaky, clean riffs, and dark, dirty riffs. // 10

Lyrics: Weird, but with a twist of politcal. Listen to Boom! for the politcal, and Chic' N' Stu for the wierd. There isn't much more to say. SOAD is SOAD. Nothing like it. // 9

Overall Impression: It doesn't. Nothing like System Of A Down has ever walked this Earth, and never will. That's good, because you don't want to listen to cookie-cutter bands forever. But sometimes that means that it's going over the edge and trying to hard to be unlike the other bands that it's making songs that wander into uncharted territory when we're not ready. Nevertheless, any SOAD fan must own this, their best album ever. If it was stolen, the theif would be dead. Period. The most impressive songs are definatly Chic' N 'Stu, Innervision, I-A-I-A-I-O, Boom!, and Highway Song. Chic'N'Stu for it's lyrics alone. How many times does a band make a song about food? 1 and it's only been done by SOAD, that I know of. Buy it now. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Steal This Album! Reviewed by: oh... THAT guy, on january 12, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound is what distinguishes SOAD from other bands, their diversity, uniqueness, etc. And this really shines through on thins album. With some songs dating back to 1995, before their first gig, it's got a huge range of genres, and you can really feel the influences they've picked up over the years building to the point where they bacame who they are, between the sucess & controversy of Toxicity, to the mainstream sucess of Mezmerize/Hypnotize. This album is very unique, chock-full of tasty riffs and political and 'quacky' (as daron puts it) lyrics. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics on this album offer a huge range of genres for a huge range of people, from 'Every time you drop the bomb, you kill the God your child has born!' to 'Peter piper picked a peck of pickled peppers, peter piper picked a peck of pickled peppers, why?' So almost anyone can enjoy at least one song on this album, due to the vocals. Serj's singing is better than ever here, and it is an added bonus that daron pitched in more than he used to, because now they have a chance to harmonise and go places they never would before. // 10

Overall Impression: I would say this is their best album, or at least my favourite system album. Hell, it's probably my favourite album out of all I've heard (and that's quite some feat) along with Stone Sour's self-titled. The most impressive songs to me are: Innervision, Boom!, Mr. Jack, I-E-A-I-A-I-O, F--k The System, Ego Brain, Roulette, Streamline. But there is not a bad track on this album, I think. even if one is just filler, then at least it's sounds good. If this was lost or stolen, I'd buy it gain like a shot. I would recommend this album to anyone at all, no matter what you like, considering the sitar solo on guns and the intensly quick vocals on I-E-A-I-A-I-O. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
Steal This Album! Reviewed by: creepypelican, on june 13, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Once again, System Of A Down creates a totally unique sound, while keeping it heavy enough to thrash to. Serj and Daron sing together much more in this album, shown well on such tracks as "Ego Brain", "Roulette", "Mr. Jack", and a few others. As I said, very original and a good listen. // 10

Lyrics: The lyrics are just as strange as ever on this cd. Songs like "Bubbles", "Chic N Stu", "F The System", "Pictures" and "I-E-A-I-A-I-0" have very strange lyrics. Chic N Stu is a funny bit about advertising, F The System pretty much contains just those words, and I-E-A-I-A-I-0 is just plain strange. Other songs like "Streamline", "Mr. Jack", "Highway Song", "Ego Brain", and "Roulette" are very well written. Overall, the lyrics are much better than most bands you see, you just have to learn to love the strangeness first. // 9

Overall Impression: This album is definitely not your typical odds-and-ends record (most of the songs were leftovers of Toxicity), since it is incredible. The most impressive songs in my opinion are "Ego Brain", "Nuguns", "Mr. Jack", "Innvervision", and my favorite, the slow love song "Roulette". The rest of the CD is solid, with no really bad songs on the album (although songs like "Boom" and "I-E-A-I-A-I-0" may not be as accepted by everyone). I like this one, because the instruments sound really good, the lyrics are good, it still sounds original, and Daron sings more on this one. Daron has one of those voices that not everyone likes, but I really like it, and the contrast between him and Serj makes for some interesting singing. All in all, I would say that if you were looking to get someone into System, this album offers the most variety of songs to suit people's musical tastes. I don't think anybody could listen to the CD and say "I didn't like a single song". // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
Comments
BIU:)
Only "https" links are allowed for pictures,
otherwise they won't appear