System of a Down review by System of a Down

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 12, 1998
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.3 (184 votes)
System of a Down: System of a Down

Sound — 10
System of a Down's debut certainly shows the band's everlasting creativity and intensity spread out among 40 minutes. The older System has many differences from the new SOAD. The guitar parts are simpler and Serj's voice sounds a lot younger, which only made him prone to more innovative musical expressions. This is the album where John has the best tone on his drums and they sound the best at the beginning of "Know". Serj's finest moment has to be none other than the song "Suggestions" because he can use his normal voice, his screaming voice, and his long dragged out notes he likes to create. Shavo writes a lot more of the songs on this album and that leads to there being more bass sound coming from your boombox. Daron's best moment, unfortunately is breif and right away at the beginning of "Suite-Pee".

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics are definately off-beat from the later System stuff and here is a song-by-song evalution from me. 01. Suite-Pee - a song about a satanically abused child. One of the very best on the album. 02. Know - this one is about somebody wanting to commit suicide to find out what happens to you after you die. 03. Sugar - the meaning is pretty vague here but it is about people who are on mushroom trips sending people to war. Sako is a guitar tech. 04. Suggestions - these are the best lyrics on the album. It is about a beach being invaded by attacking ships and the light post is a lighthouse that is "watching". 05. Spiders - a good break from all of the ruckess. A song about video surveilence and the spiders are bad thoughts running through stuff. 06. Ddevil - this one is about how we all destroy ourselves for no reason. Not the best on the CD. 07. Soil - another fine job by Serj here. It is about a suicide and how there is evil in everybody. 08. War? - possily the best song on the album. It is about the Armenian Genocide which wiped out 1.5 million Armenians. 09. Mind - this one is about the governmental mind-controlling technology and no free thinking. Not the best on the CD. 10. Peephole - this is about warning people not to do drugs too much or you will never be able to come back, stuck in the sky. 11. Cubert - this means cube root which in the song means that life only gets duller and duller until it's just there. 12. Darts - this is about making women rise up in the lives of people and it is against homosexuality. 13. P.L.U.C.K. - it says in the book that this song is dedicaed to the memory of the Armenian Genocide victims. That's exactly what it is.

Overall Impression — 9
This SOAD CD is different from all of the rest by a long-shot. A very good first album for that would also make a good follow up to something but Toxicity was perfect for that job. There are only a few bummers on this one and they are: Mind, and DDevil. Not that they aren't great songs but they get a little tiresome after a while. Best songs: Know, Suite-Pee, War?, Sugar, and Suggestions. Buy this if you don't have it.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date