Toxicity review by System of a Down

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 27, 2001
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9 (399 votes)
System of a Down: Toxicity

Sound — 10
The latest SOAD album has an amazing vibe to it. The sound is amazing. The guitarist Daron used a metal style like he has used with all the other albums but in this album hes added an extra! In some songs you might here a 12 string acoustic playing in the background aswell. But sometimes you get the feeling that the music dosen't go with the lyrics. The guitar in some songs is just so catchy that you want to go see them and learn all their songs! Like in the song Aerials the main tune goes perfectly with the chorus singing.

Lyrics — 8
I think the singer skills need some work because sometimes the singing just sounds not right. And sometimes the singing does not go well with the music. But the lyrics in these songs are truley amazing. Sining about war and drugs is kinda boring it may seem lame but the way the Serj sings it completely changes how people feel about war and drugs. The lyrics can really get to. Some people may not understand but all the lyrics in all their songs are about something that troubles them like war, money and drugs.

Overall Impression — 10
I think no other artist has been able to acheive the type of lyrics and music that system of a down use. Their singing and music changes you and enters you into a world of peace and were there isn't anything wrong. Here are the track listings: 01. Prison Song 02. Needles 03. Deer Dance 04. Jet Pilot 05. X 06. Chop Suey! 07. Bounce 08. Forest 09. ATWA 10. Science 11. Shimmy 12. Toxicity 13. Physco 14. Aerials The most impressive songs on this album have to be Toxicity and Aerials. They really have a real feeling to them. Toxicity is about the poorer people in the world and Aerials is about selfish people who have everything they want. The thing that I love about this album is the lyrics they really get to me. So to summerise it all this album is a must buy to anyone into metal or feel about war, money and drugs.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date