200 KmH In The Wrong Lane review by t.A.T.u.

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 17, 2002
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 7.4 (17 votes)
t.A.T.u.: 200 KmH In The Wrong Lane

Sound — 8
The album starts with english recordings/re-recordings of the duos tracks whereas the second half sports the Russian side of the album. With tracks such as 'All The Things She Said' and 'Not Gonna Get Us' recorded in both English and Russian. The CD gives the listener a good perspective of the track instrumentally but also lyrically as the words are switched between languages and still fitted into the song. On the subject of the albums overall sound the funky drum/bass driven backing really sets off the couples angelic vocals in both the Russian and English vesions of the songs. A few good remixed and extended versions of tracks form earlier in the CD beef out the album and really bring home how good these two sound on disc. The sound ranges from a few quite grungy sounding guitar driven tracks to the melodic subtlties of tracks, including '30 Minutes,' which could happily have found itself tinkling away in the background of a few good spooky movie trailers. Having said this there are some points on the CD where the music would probably have been happier on a kiddies TV show and just goes to show that a 'manufactured' band will never quite produce an album that sounds 100% pure 'them'. And just exaggerates that on the whole, where the album is clever, lyrical and in places damned emotional, there are points where the duo's slightly naieve side just shows through and really does go to show that if these two could just bust out of the mould, they could be set making some brilliant music in the future.

Lyrics — 8
Lyrically this album is amazing and in some places they are just so deep you really could drop a brick in them and not hear it land 'till next Tuesday, although, again, there are places where they really do make you cringe with embarrassment. The Russian to English re-recordings aren't necessarily the same lyrics but somehow manage to keep the mood of the song the same.

Overall Impression — 8
Great album with a few low point but on the whole a great album from an amazing duet.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date