Where You Want to Be review by Taking Back Sunday

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 27, 2004
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8.6 (26 votes)

Sound — 10
The sound in this album is absolutely inscredible. Every single song is both catchy and somewhat unique. A couple songs sound a little alike, but then again the songs themselves are awesome so it deosnt matter. Its like your favorite song being copied and changed a little, but thats barely the case. The guitar sound varies from standard picks to finger picking for more emotional songs like New American Classic. The sound will take you in at the beginning and since the second "side" has the more catchy songs, it will gradually pull you in more and more untill your hooked and need to listen the whola album through many many times to get enough of it.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics are a blend of sadness, acceptance etc. Standard for Emo bands. Taking Back Sunday, however uses their large number of members to their full potential. You will experiance up to four (maybe more) voices at a time with beautiful harmony. Durning these moments, the lyrics differ between some band members and they fit together perfectly creating an effect that you cant get enough of. The lead singer does a great job of hitting the high notes with out shattering our ear drums, screaming with the proper effect (no wimpy wailing) and pulls everything in between off with amazing crispness.

Overall Impression — 10
This album rocked my pants and for 14-15 bucks, its an absolute steal for the amound of tireless listning youll put into it. There is not ONE song that is bad, there is not one song that is even mediocre. Every single song classifies under: Awesome, being the lowest category, better and best. The best songs in my opinion are One-Eighty By Summer, Slowdance On The Inside and a Decade Under The Influence. Even then you will constantly be hitting the rewind button for songs like The Union, New American Classic, Bonus Mosh Pt. 2 and the list goes on and on.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date