Rize Of The Fenix review by Tenacious D

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 15, 2012
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.8 (189 votes)
Tenacious D: Rize Of The Fenix

Sound — 8
Tenacious D... Um well... Look at the album cover, yup, that's done deliberately to those who thought it was an accident, so yeah, sound wise its hardly original, and it doesn't have a big story to its songs like the pick of destiny, but it sounds nice either way, with Kyle doing a good job on guitar, and Dave Grohl's once again lending his drum skills, it sounds really good when it alls comes together.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics are to be honest vulgar - to put it lightly - but its pretty funny to listen to, and makes for some good original songs. Unfortunately it doesn't take much effort, and most songs seem lazily made as a result, but still, Jack Black has such an iconic voice - and a good one at that - and he brings the song to life and makes them great.

Overall Impression — 8
Overall it's an good album, with a few niggles holding it back, repetitive songs / lyrics, unoriginal sound, slightly holding off the coattails of the "Pick Of Destiny" as a sound goes, the album has some funny songs, but as a complete album, its somewhat lacking, but still remains as good as they ever were.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date