World Downfall review by Terrorizer

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (1 vote)
Terrorizer: World Downfall

Sound — 10
This album is first album by grindcore band from California US, Terrorizer. It was released by Earache Records in November 1989. Band consisted of Oscar Garcia (vocals), Jesse Pintado (guitar), David Vincent (bass) and Pete Sandoval (drums). This is THE grindcore album (ok, I would classify it deathgrind, because is much more closer to death metal than other grindcore bands). Napalm Death released "Scum" and Repulsion released "Horrified", these are classic albums, but this album is much better. They didn't reinvented the genre, they just made it perfect, The biggest thing that is improved is the production. You can clearly hear guitar and drums, but this thick sound is still present. The album is full of riffs, from slow to fast ones. Lots of riffs aren't too complicated, but that makes them so good. And the best part is the drumming, Pete played very fast and right on spot through the whole album. All blast beats, double bass drums and all the drum fills are perfectly placed. My favorite blast beats are in "Storm Of Stress", this song also feature few bass fills. Bass usually follows the guitar lines, expect in few songs where you can hear only bass playing (for a very short amount of time, but hey, it's there).

Lyrics — 9
Oscar grunts are perfect for this album (imagine long haired guy, who is been smoking from the birth, yelling at the TV because the world is f--ked up... That's epic). Lyrics are typical (when grindcore was still lyrically more hardcore punk), about politics and that kind of stuff, but very well put together.

Overall Impression — 10
After all this years, this is still the best grindcore (deathgrind) release. 16 tracks under 40 minutes (not falling under than 1 minute or being longer than 4 minutes) and NO fillers. My favorite tracks would be "After World Obliteration", "Fear Of Napalm", "Corporation Pull-In", "Enslaved By Propaganda" and "Dead Shall Rise". You MUST own this album (grindcore or death metal fan).

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    Perfect everything on this album, perfect balance of death metal and grindcore