The New Order review by Testament

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 1, 1988
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.7 (26 votes)
Testament: The New Order

Sound — 9
This album has an amazing, do to Alex Skolnick's lead guitar, he makes the album what it is in my opinion. Alex Skolnick = Kirk Hammett with ten times more shred and much more variation, and amazing lead work. There is a lot of clean/acoustic stuff with lead that will keep you begging for more. Also a lot of eerie tracks. The quality of this album isn't the best, but the music more than makes up for it. This isn't just stereotypical metal, testament throws in a lot of different beats, that will make you bang your head, well worth your time.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics weren't extremely impressive to me, though they are fitting with all the songs, which is a plus. Chuck Billy (vocalist) has a unique style and can sing in many different ways. Sings clean, can throw in the growl, and sing with a powerful deep voice.

Overall Impression — 10
When I first heard of Testament I heard they were comparable to Metallica, I have now come to the conclusion that they blow Metallica out of the water, and a much more creative. The most classic tracks being "Trial By Fire," "The Preacher," "Musical Death." I love that there is so much variety to the album, a couple instrumentals that blow my mind, some creepy clean stuff, and some headbang worthy thrash tracks. If it were stolen or lost I would definately by this again, it's well worth the money.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date