Enemy Unbound review by The Absence

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 14, 2010
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.8 (5 votes)
The Absence: Enemy Unbound

Sound — 10
By now we know what to expect from The Absence. After releasing their third album this year, the Absence have established a perfection of melodic death metal and a unique sound which has given the band an identity. As they first released From Your Grave, The Absence kick-started their careers with a triumphant breakthrough album and soon followed with the second studio album Riders Of The Plague. Enemy Unbound is very much a sequel to Riders Of The Plague and continues with the powerful and progressive elements that Absence fans embraced in 2007. However after a three year wait Absence fans are not being served a copy of Riders. Enemy Unbound while it provides the solid aspects of Riders in such songs as Wartorn' and the title track Enemy Unbound, also moves back to From Your Grave with the thrash influenced style in songs such as Deepest Wound' and Hidden In White'. Fans can expect the usual technical riffs of Peter Joseph which was embraced in the previous albums. In Wartorn' for example the focus lies mainly on the leading riffs which carry the slow paced song into a powerful progressive stance. The drums and bass have kept their usual consistency seen in Riders Of The Plague however personally I was disappointed with the continued drift away from the leading bass seen in From Your Grave, the drums in contrast never fail to impress. Overall the mixture of thrash and melodic death metal which levels with Scandinavian artists allows a diverse and solid album to have been recorded. Enemy Unbound is exactly what fans would expect from The Absence from what we saw in its prequel.

Lyrics — 8
As well as solid musical side, the vocals and lyrics from a metal point of view are splendid. Jamie Stewart not only sings/screams effectively throughout the album but also has written lyrics which signify exactly the perfect mixture of clarity and symbolism. Firstly, Jamie's vocals are much what we see in the previous albums. However as we did see in these albums he provides solid vocals which not only fit the death metal side of the band but also the thrash elements. Although there are no specific outlines of Jamie's vocals in the new release, he does however live up to his prior expectations. Enemy Unbound is no stranger to professional lyric standards. As commonly seen in previous albums, the lyrics in Enemy Unbound are perhaps the best or all three releases. Wartorn' for example perfectly describes the brutality of war not only lyrically but also musically as both work excellently together.

Overall Impression — 10
To be more general, this album is a masterpiece of what melodic death metal should be in the 21st century. The Absence have produced a third successful album and fans around the world should be rushing to purchase this album. The only negative thing about this album is that unfortunately because The Absence are so talented and produce so much good work, sadly the nervous wait for a fourth album will only tell is the band will as many have in the past sell out'. However as the bands past has shown us the possibility of The Absence directing to a mainstream audience is not only unlikely but also unwise. Fans of melodic death metal, do yourself s favour and buy this album.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date