Beatles for Sale review by The Beatles

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Dec 4, 1964
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 7.6 (22 votes)
The Beatles: Beatles for Sale

Sound — 10
This album released between Help and A Hard Day's Night, is often overlooked. This album features eight Beatle originals and six covers. This album shows who the Beatles main influences were with songs by Buddy Holly, Carl Perkins, and, of course, Chuck Berry. every song on this album is executed to near perfection. The harmonies on songs like No Reply and John's vocals on Mr. Moonlight are absolutely amazing. This song also features great guitar work by George on songs like Rock and Roll and Kansas City/Hey Hey Hey!.

Lyrics — 8
Like all early Beatles material, this album is mostly love songs. The two exceptions to this would be I'm A Loser and I Don't Want To Spoil The Party. Both songs seem to express John's inner feelings of insecurities and adjustment to the success of the Beatles. Each song has great lyrics though, any Beatle fan would be impressed.

Overall Impression — 8
Sadly, this album if often overlooked, this is an injustice. Even though this album is not 100% Beatles originals, it is still worth listening too. The vocals are heartfelt and sincere (even on covers) and the guitar work by Harrison is great as usual.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    wtf why did someone post a review for Let it Be, in The Beatles For sale?