Live At The BBC review by The Beatles

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Dec 6, 1994
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.2 (33 votes)
The Beatles: Live At The BBC

Sound — 10
A 2-disk album of live radio performances done for the Saturday Morning show (and later Pop Go the Beatles) from 1962-1965. There are very few actual Beatles songs on here (I'm a Loser, Can't Buy Me Love, Love Me Do, and some others). A huge part of this album are covers from early rock'n'rollers and obscure R&B groups. Chuck Berry tops the list of covers. The liner notes (very good ones at that) say the Beatles performed 52 times on the BBC and sang 88 different songs, but the total on these 2 disks is 69 tracks. a lot of early recordings (from '62) weren't in any condition to be issued with the rest of the crystal clear recordings from '63-65, although I wish they had anyways, for historical/sentimental reasons.

Lyrics — 8
Alot of the covers here are interesting. John does very well at singing the R&B numbers (Baby It's You, Soldier of Love, etc) and Chuck Berry. Paul does a few Little Richard impersonations. George sings a few Carl Perkins songs, and of course, Roll Over Beethoven. Ringo sings one song here, Matchbox, also by Carl Perkins. The sound quality for most of these tracks are pristine and sound like a live-in-the-studio performance from today.

Overall Impression — 10
This album is great in a sense that most of these covers are unavailable anywhere else (save for the originally-released singles like Long Tall Sally and the Live at the Star Club 1962 album). This album gets alot of crap for the lack of original songs, but really the whole point of these sessions was for the Beatles to pick out there own particular favorites and play them for the broadcast, along with their current single or hit or whatever. No issues with it, it's a very good addition to the collection and offers in-depth history to the Beatles, as well as a chance to hear how they sounded live, without the screams.

4 comments sorted by best / new / date