Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band review by The Beatles

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 1, 1967
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.3 (141 votes)
The Beatles: Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band

Sound — 10
The Beatles have been called the best band of all time. They have sold more albums than any other artist, and this album is one of the reasons why. The album starts off with Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, which basically tells you what you are going to experience in this album; upbeat pop/rock music that just makes you want to sing along. The album continues with several other great tracks including: Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds, Getting Better, and Being For The Benefit Of Mr. Kite! Overall, this album is one of the best sounding albums of all time and you will not regret listening to it.

Lyrics — 9
This lyrics in this album are extremely creative and clever. Lennon and McCartney are probably the greatest song writers of all time and their work does not fall short in this album. From beginning to end the lyrics of this album are creative and wonderful, and The Beatles do an excellent job of singing them.

Overall Impression — 10
This album probably the best album of The Beatles (it is tied with Abbey Road) and it is extremely great to listen to over and over again.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    These reviews are good, but seem to contradict themselves quite a bit. Some reviewers give it a 9 or 10 (which I agree, it deserves) but then say three or four of the songs are '3/5' or 'boring'. Which is it then?