On the Front Line review by The Casualties

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 17, 2004
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 7.9 (17 votes)
The Casualties: On the Front Line

Sound — 8
This latest release from Side One Dummy Records is The Casualties at their finest. Hard, fast, in-your-face, political punk rock. The music, while not very comlpex, is the perfect example of what to expect from pretty much any street-punk band: Screaming vocals, catchy melodies, distorted guitars, and an occasional guitar solo or two.

Lyrics — 8
If you've heard the Casualties before, then you'll know what to expect. Every song on the album feautures Jorge's gruff screaming voice, so if you've never liked it before, you won't now. Just like all their other releases, the lyrics are mostly political, ranging from the traditional "fuck you" attitude on tracks such as Scarred For Life, to the more serious and emotional lyrics on Unknown Soldier.

Overall Impression — 10
Out of all their releases, I would say that On The Front Line is, by far, the best. It has everything that you've come to expect from The Casualties, and more. If you like The Casualties, you'll love this album, and if you've never heard them before, and would like to give them a try, this album is as good of a place as any to start.

5 comments sorted by best / new / date

    good album but, if you listen to scarred for life....actually listen(try) to what jorge is saying, its not a political song its about heroin
    yo this was a relly god albam. on of my faverits.good gob.
    may the casualties live for ever, but more than that, COME TO COPENHAGEN FUCKERS!!!!