The Clash (US) review by The Clash

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 25, 1990
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.6 (26 votes)
The Clash: The Clash (US)

Sound — 9
This album has a great, raw punk sound, though not totally devoid of melody. For example, in the opening track, "Clash City Rockers," It starts out with a simple but powerful guitar riff and angry vocals, then goes into a surprisingly melodic chorus. That happens on hear a lot. They had better musicianship than any other punk band of the time (or ever after) and this is a prime example of how punk bands should be doing their music today.

Lyrics — 8
While they hadn't reached their peak lyrically yet, and more often than not you won't get a word of what they're saying anyway, the lyrics are really quite good. They range from talking about the government (Remote Control, Complete Control) Unemployment (Career Opportunities) and the band itself (Clash City Rockers) The lyrics are more than you'd expect from four punks who were nearly bankrupt at the time, and they would only get better. The vocalists are Joe Strummer and Mick Jones, Joe Strummer usually being the lead. While Mick Jones may be a technically better singer, I think Joe Strummer is better for the sound, and their voices match the songs they sing on perfectly. For example, Strummer is perfect for the raw force of Clash City Rockers or London's Burning, And Jone's is better for the more melodic "Hate and War."

Overall Impression — 9
While this doesn't have the diversity of their later albums, it has a raw energy that few punk albums have ever come close to comparing to. As far as The Clash's albums, this would rank second for me just after London Calling. While there are some miss tracks (What's my name) it's mostly consistent, and is a must for lovers of punk, and most lovers of rock in general would also appreciate this album I'm sure.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date