Requiem review by The Confession

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 19, 2007
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.5 (24 votes)
The Confession: Requiem

Sound — 9
Requiem is The Confession's first full-length album; it's 10 songs long, two of which are off the EP. The Confession stray a little from the sound they had on the ep, but they still keep the over all vibe of the band, it adds a more dynamic sound to this cd. It was produced by M. Shadows of Avenged Sevenfold, M. shadows seems to have pushed the confession away from the A7X sound and more toward there own. He has transformed them from a avenged sevenfold wannabe's to some thing of their own. I really enjoy the styles of both the guitar players in this band, they shy away from the normal tech style solo's of other heavy bands, and lean more towards heartfelt solo's with just a touch of southern flare.

Lyrics — 7
Compared with other CDs of similar styles this album is extremely well written. The lyrics fit very well with the style of music played; the singer has a great range and an uncanny ability to sing with the guitar. The little screaming that was present on the ep is all but gone; the one song that has a little screaming is jealousy, in which the screams sound more like a large man gargling maple syrup.

Overall Impression — 8
This album really possesses the two things that made the EP a mediocre listen, those being a unique sound and quality audio. Some of the songs that really stand out are Time is gone, in which the boys try there hand at a string quartet intro and make it sound more like bambe than anything else, but once past the "lovely" intro the opens up into quite the sonic achievement. Other tracks to take note of are Requiem (a nice little acoustic piece) and The Rise and Fall, the intro of which can easily be mistaken for Avenged Sevenfold. Also No angel which got carried over from the EP is a very good piece of music.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date