Live At The MEN Arena [DVD] review by The Courteeners

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Dec 12, 2011
  • Sound: 8
  • Content: 9
  • Production Quality: 7
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.5 (2 votes)
The Courteeners: Live At The MEN Arena [DVD]

Sound — 8
The Courteeners are almost certainly one of the best live alternative bands around at the moment. Mixing together the best songs from their first two albums "St. Jude" and "Falcon", and a stand-alone single "That Kiss", Liam Fray is fantastic at getting the crowd going (especially when he surprises the crowd for three songs towards the end...), which can be seen in this DVD, as most of the 16,000 capacity crowd are on their feet for the entire night.

Content — 9
The content of the DVD is great, featuring the entire concert in order. The picture quality and sound are fantastic. The set list is as follows: 01. The Opener 02. Will It Be This Way Forever? 03. Acrylic 04. Cavorting 05. Good Times Are Calling 06. Cross My Heart And Hope To Fly 07. Lullaby 08. Please Don't 09. Scratch Your Name Upon My Lips 10. Sycophant 11. Bide Your Time 12. Take Over The World 13. That Kiss 14. Fallowfield Hillbilly 15. How Come 16. No You Didn't, No You Don't 17. The Rest Of The World Has Gone Home 18. You Overdid It Doll 19. Not Nineteen Forever 20. What Took You So Long?

Production Quality — 7
The production quality is fantastic, the camera angles are fantastic, cutting excellently between the crowd and various members of the band.

Overall Impression — 8
As a big Courteeners fan, this DVD was a must-buy for me, and I'd thoroughly recommend it to any Indie-Rock or Brit-Pop fan. I love the way Liam Fray is constantly getting and keeping the crowd going, and if someone were to steal the DVD, I would hunt them down.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date