Beyond Good And Evil review by The Cult

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 5, 2001
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.3 (11 votes)
The Cult: Beyond Good And Evil

Sound — 10
The Cult's seventh studio release is also their first release in seven years takes them into brand new sonic territory. Adding heavy dropped "D" tuning and bone crunching distortion to guitarist Billy Duffy's already brilliant use of effects and melody created a mood of heavy metal with just a touch of goth ambiance. The rhythm section is tight and the kick pounds right through your chest.

Lyrics — 8
Ian Astbury's voice is once again flawless, soaring powerfully right out over the music. His lyrics are often metaphoric and spacial, but as per usual he is able to say quite a bit more with a lot less than many of the lyrcists around today.

Overall Impression — 8
A solid return to form that was grossly underappreciated by modern rock radio save the moderate hit of lead single "Rise." Well worth purchasing if you like older Cult material or are just a fan of good, hard rock.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date