Bloodflowers review by The Cure

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 22, 2000
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 7.7 (3 votes)
The Cure: Bloodflowers

Sound — 10
I would say that this is a throwback to some of their earlier albums. Especially "Pornography" and "Disintegration". Robert Smith himself says those two and "Bloodflowers" are connected. Released in 2000, it features one of The Cure's best line-ups with Simon Gallup on bass, Jason Cooper on drums, Perry Bamonte on guitars, Roger O'Donnell on keyboards, and of course Robert Smith.

Lyrics — 9
Lyrically, the album is at least in my point of view, the last great Cure album. 1. "Out Of This World" - Robert Smith sings this song which almost sounds like he is retiring The Cure (which is something he always talked about off and on). Sad and full of realizing that the end of something (?) is near. Wonderful piano part by Roger O'Donnell. 2. "Watching Me Fall" - To me this sounds like something off of "Pornography". Loud guitars and drums with Robert singing about how he has been falling for years. I guess he is feeling old on this one. One of the longest Cure songs ever at 11.13 minutes long. 3. "Where The Birds Always Sing" - This song could have been on "Disintegration" with the lush keyboards played by O'Donnell. Or at least a b-side. 4. "Maybe Someday" - The hit off this album, Robert sings about the "last time" and "leave it gone and just walk away". Really good song and strong single. Not at all like "Friday I'm In Love" or "Mint Car" from the "Wish" and "Wild Mood Swings" albums. Bipolar opposite of those songs. 5. "The Last Day Of Summer" - "Nothing I am, nothing I dream, nothing is new..." Really themes of growing older, melancholy, and all throughout this album. 6. "There Is No If..." - That is until this song. This song really doesn't fit this album. It is a pure love song. Kind of a filler too at that. 7. "The Loudest Sound" - This song could have been on "Disintegration" easily. With a simple, but haunting guitar part, and Robert barely mumbling the words, it is one of the best tracks on the album. "Side by side in silence his thoughts echo round..." 8. "39" - Robert could have made this one the final track cause it sounds like the end is near. "The fire is out and there is nothing left to burn..." this one sounds like a perfect blend of "Pornography" and "Disintegration". On of the louder tracks on the album. Very cool guitar and bass intro! 9. "Bloodflowers" - This one also sounds like a perfect blend of "Pornography" and "Disintegration". Awesome keyboards by O'Donnell.

Overall Impression — 9
To me this is their last great album. I wished I could have seen the tour for this one! I really like "Out Of This World", "The Loudest Sound", "39", and "Watching Me Fall" the best. Only track I don't care for is "There Is No If..." Could have left it off the album or made it a b-side. If it were lost I would buy so fast my head would spin.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date