Sing Sing Death House review by The Distillers

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 6, 2002
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.7 (7 votes)
The Distillers: Sing Sing Death House

Sound — 10
The sound is extremely punk. Brody definitely did not let the change in line-up from "The Distillers" to "Sing Sing Deathhouse" affect the sound at all. Most of brody's vocals are scratchy and "flawed" but that makes the album even better.

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics on this album tackle many issues. The album opens with "Sick Of It All" - a song about how the members of the Distillers turned to music to vent their emotions rather than violence and stuff. Then, "Seneca Falls" pays tribute to two of America's strongest women of the past - Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady. "The Young Crazed Peeling" is about Brody's childhood. "City Of Angels" is about L. A. and the people in it. "Young Girls" is about Brody's childhood friend - "Girtie Rouge." And "Desperate" is about Brody's battle with drugs. Very passionate lyrics.

Overall Impression — 10
This is the best album from the Distillers. It is better than the self-titled album b/c the lyrics are more well written and it is better than Coral Fang because it is a lot less "produced." The best songs are "Sick Of It All," "Sing Sing Death House," "Young Crazed Peeling" and "City Of Angels."

0 comments sorted by best / new / date