How to Save a Life review by The Fray

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 22, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 7.7 (92 votes)
The Fray: How to Save a Life

Sound — 10
The Fray have a unique sound that intertwines the piano and drum riffs together. The subtle guitar on most songs in playing a lot of rhythm but in certain songs stands out (such as: All At Once, Dead Wrong, and Little House). Issac Slade creates genuinly original piano riffs that go very well with his low voice. The flow of the CD is ok, but the second half befor the last two songs is kind of slow. Very easy to listen to from first song to last song.

Lyrics — 9
Here's where Slade really shows off his talents. His lyrics are devoted to his life and what it means to him. The single "Over My Head (Cable Car)" is a song written about a fight that him and his brother had that shook there relationship drastically and then the reconciliation of the family memebers. "How To Save A Life", the title track, is the most inspirational though. It is about Slade's experiences and a Big Brother in the Big Brother community program that was in his city. His partner was a crack addicted teen that Slade tried to straighten out. Slade does not have a very big range though. He never pushes the envelope thpugh and stays very strong throughout for having such a low toned voice.

Overall Impression — 10
The most well thought out songs on the album are: How To Save A Life, All At Once, Trust Me, and Look After You. I love how you can seriously tell that the narrator of te songs is trying to say something deeper than what is actually said. If you pay attention the message is always there and the band does a great job of finding a place for each sond in all the instruments. You can hear each instrument clearly and you can hear them all at the same time as well. It is the best CD to come out since the John Mayer Trio dropped "Try!". Denver should be proud.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date