Lex Hives review by The Hives

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 1, 2012
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 7
  • Reviewer's score: 7.3 Good
  • Users' score: 7.2 (16 votes)
The Hives: Lex Hives

Sound — 8
Each song varied in sound to make a well rounded album. "I Want More" was slower and much darker than their usual upbeat sound. "Go Right Ahead", with a melody borrowed with permission from ELO's "Don't Bring Me Down", has a driving force to it from the addition of saxophone and other instruments new to The Hives. "Wait A Minute" and "Midnight Shifter" both have a wonderful energy to them that only The Hives can deliver.

Lyrics — 7
Much more repetition than past albums, but still plenty of variety and meaning to the verses. Nothing unexpected based on the other albums so far.

Overall Impression — 7
At first listen, I thought I'd only like a select few songs. But hearing the whole things brings out a lot of things that were unexpected but not surprising for this band. Overall, a great new album and one of their best.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date

    I love this album actually. It's a simple, romping good time. I always listen to "My Time Is Coming" when life is getting me down.