So This Is Great Britain? review by The Holloways

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 30, 2006
  • Sound: 7
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 6.7 (3 votes)
The Holloways: So This Is Great Britain?

Sound — 7
Well, what is there to say? If you ever wondered what would happen if you took a talented singer, some unusual drums, multiple guitars and a harmonica and put them all in a middle of the road indie band then this album will answer your question. The sound of this album varies slightly between indie and something close to blues including a cover of the classic Hallelujah I Love Her So. Each of the songs have their own merits and most of them have excellent guitar solos.

Lyrics — 9
The singer in this band is talented, his voice is obviously not electronically changed but this is not the thing that is so excellent about the lyrics of this album. The highlight of this album is definatly the lyrics, they stand out from all others of the time. They range from truthfull tounge in cheek accounts of the band member's lives as they grow up to disturbingly truthful observations about man's attitude towards his fellows. The songs "I Should Say Something" and "Most Lonley Face" are particularly outstanding as they hit you in the heart and force you to notice things which you have done wrong. The lyrics on this album are very good but they are borderline preachy in some places despite this they are very good.

Overall Impression — 8
good lyrics, talented band members, great sound, this album has it all and is definatly worth buying especially if you like the current british indie scene. However I wouldn't buy it if you are in to hard rock or metal as it is very soft in some places. if you are downloading on itunes then avoid the songs "London Town" and "Pushing And Shoveing" as they are definatly the album's low points.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date