The Millennium Collection: The Best Of The Jam review by The Jam

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Apr 12, 2005
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 5
  • Reviewer's score: 7.7 Good
  • Users' score: 7 (1 vote)
The Jam: The Millennium Collection: The Best Of The Jam

Sound — 8
This 'Best Of' album does contain some great Jam songs, but it doesn't make this album good, because there is only 11 tracks on this album and it is a waste of money. Also, songs like 'The Eton Rifles' and 'When You're Young' do not feature on this album, so if you are looking for a 'Best Of The Jam', I would recommend you to buy 'Snap! ', not this one. However, it starts off well with their debut single 'In The City' as this song is a great starter to any album. The other tracks are 'The Modern World', 'Down In The Tube Station At Midnight' which contains one of Bruce Foxton's (bassist) most famous bass-line, 'Strange Town', the brilliant 'The Butterfly Collector' which made up the 'b' side to the previous track, The Jam's debut no.1 hit 'Going Underground', the acoustic 'That's Entertainment', 'Start! ' which contains another famous bass-line, 'Beat Surrender', the poor 'The Bitterist Pill (I Ever Had To Swallow)' and 'Town Called Malice'. 'Town Called Malice' was the last track on this album, and it was a strange decision to end this album with that song, because it isn't the latest track on the album. But overall, it does contain great Jam songs and it is enjoyable to listen to, but it is quite expensive and you are better off buying 'Snap!' instead of this one.

Lyrics — 10
All 11 tracks were written and composed by Paul Weller, and they were all of the highest quality. Despite there isn't enough music to listen to, you will be amazed by his song writing and his singing skills. He became one of the finest song writers in the UK.

Overall Impression — 5
Although the sound and lyrics were great, the overall impression is not great. There should be at least 12 more tracks, because most Jam songs were under three minutes and this album lasted only about 1/2 hour. However, all of the songs were impressive, but the award for the most impressive should either go to 'Going Underground' or 'Start!' I don't really like anything about this album, but what I hate about this album was that not only there was 11 tracks on the entire album, but the songs are not even in time order. If this album got stolen/lost, I would never think about buying this album again. To end this review, avoid buying this album, because it's a waste of money.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    The tracks featured on this album are: 1. In The City 2. The Modern World 3. Down In The Tube Station At Midnight 4. Strange Town 5. The Butterfly Collector 6. Going Underground 7. That's Entertainment 8. Start! 9. Beat Surrender 10. The Bitterist Pill (I Ever Had To Swallow) 11. Town Called Malice