Mongrel review by The Number Twelve Looks Like You

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 19, 2007
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.3 (25 votes)
The Number Twelve Looks Like You: Mongrel

Sound — 9
This is probably some of the Number 12's best material to date. First off, the guitar work is top notch. Has a very strong progressive sound with all the complex time signatures found in your typical Mathcore band, and is very technical. The Drumming is also really good but can get very loud at times, drowning out the guitar work. This album has less going on than previous albums and has a cleaner sound quality, but still retains that extreme chaotic noise factor that they have always had. The style derives from noise, grind core, Math core, Progressive metal, jazz, and experimental.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics are very interesting along with their obscure song titles. It can be hard to determine what the band is actually trying to say, but songs like " El Pinata De Le Muerte " and " Jay Walking Backwards " deffinently have some good imagery. The vocals are mostly screamed with a tad bit of clean vocals(probably the best part of their singing style because the clean vocals are so weird) and the occasional death growl. There is 2 vocalists but you really couldn't tell, you would just think that it was just one vocalist multi tracking his voice.

Overall Impression — 9
This is a really good album for anyone who loves chaotic Math core, Progressive metal, or experimental it won't disappoint. For fans of Dillinger Escape plan, Fear Before, Heavy Heavy Low Low, and The Locust. Check out tracks:Imagination Express, El Pinata De Le Muerte, Jay Walking Backwards, Grandfather, and The Weekly Wars.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    this band is ****ing amazing. pretty damn good album too. can't wait for the new one in February!!!!