Ixnay on the Hombre review by The Offspring

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 7, 1997
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.2 (40 votes)
The Offspring: Ixnay on the Hombre

Sound — 10
This is arguably The Offsprings best album ever. Every sound adds the experience. Whether its Noodles guitar, the drums or the subtle bass. Every single song on this disc was great. Whether its the metal-ish "I Choose", the sad "Gone Away" or the high-school minded "Cool to Hate" (that is so me).

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics. What can I say about them 'cept they kick arse. The lyrics fit perfectly with the song. They never sound out of place, never. The first time just listen to the cd, let is play. The second time really listen to and think about what Dexter is saying. Dexter, as usual, is great. His singing is perfect, he says every thing just right into the songs.

Overall Impression — 10
This is their best album, being followed by Smash. The most impressive songs a hard one. I liked every song but if I have to pick out favorites I would say: "Cool To Hate", "I Choose", "Gone Away", "Mota", "Me and My Old Lady" (hideously gross, but good), "Amazed", Don't Pick It Up", "All I Want."

0 comments sorted by best / new / date