Splinter review by The Offspring

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Dec 1, 2003
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 7.8 (34 votes)
The Offspring: Splinter

Sound — 10
The sound in this album is one of the best sounds the Offspring has had. They really mix it up on this album. They open it up with awesome guitar riffs with songs like The Noose and The Long Way home. They also have some funk/regae in their songs like the Worst Hangover Ever and some acoustic with Spare Me the Details. All in all the sound of Noodles' guitar and the drum beats sound pretty sweet.

Lyrics — 8
Dexter still keeps to his title of one of the best rock singers in this album. Vocally it is a very good album and the lyrics are both pretty funny (Da Hui) and both pretty serious and heavy (Race Against Myself). The lyics are great though.

Overall Impression — 8
My overall impression of this album is that Splinter is definetly a good album. They could have made it even better if the had made it longer but what can you do? All I can say is that it is good to have Dexter and the boys back after such a long time waiting for their new album. Although it is a pretty steady album it doesn't compare much with their earlier albums such as Smash and Inxay on the Hombre.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date