Splinter review by The Offspring

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Dec 1, 2003
  • Sound: 6
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7.3 Good
  • Users' score: 7.8 (34 votes)
The Offspring: Splinter

Sound — 6
Well, the sound to this album is not anything too spectacular. They aquired a new drummer, but he does not make an appearance on this one. But, whoever does do the drumming (John Freese) is very good. They go for a ska song which is not bad, but can get annoying. The last track should also not be on the album, at least not as a regular track. Guitar wise, well, not much to say. Both Dexter and Noodles pretty much don't explore here. Much more of a rock feel to this, but a vast improvement to the pop feel on Conspiracy of One.

Lyrics — 8
Well, I've always been a fan to Offspring lyrics, and this album doesn't dissappoint there. But, there is not much of a change. The first track features lyrics which we have always been used to from these guys; go-against-authority type stuff. Besides the last song, all of these are typical Offspringish lyrics. I think Dexter tries to come off as a bit more darker and tries to get his own message accross and it shows in some of the songs. Anyways, lyrics are good, if you like Offsping lyrics.

Overall Impression — 8
It is not a bad album. It takes a bit to get used to, and it is extremely short, but still a step up from their previous effort. It does not compare to any of their stuff pre-Ixnay, but it isn't bad. If you wanted them to release another Smash, well, this ain't it. But if you wanted an album that gets harder than Conspiracy, you got it!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date